Need Help Install PHP MySQL Apache In Windows XP

Forum for you who has PHP installation issues

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

User avatar
swirlee
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2272
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2003 1:18 pm
Location: A bunk in the back
Contact:

Postby swirlee » Tue Jul 22, 2003 11:28 am

We're not here to provide step-by-step instructions or to hold your hand. There's documentation that already does this for you. This is the basic process:
  1. Download Apache win32 binaries
  2. READ THE DOCUMENTATION
  3. Install Apache
  4. Download PHP win32 binaries
  5. READ THE DOCUMENTATION
  6. Install PHP
  7. Download MySQL win32 binaries
  8. READ THE DOCUMENTATION
  9. Install MySQL
That's it. Painfully simple. Additionally, there are countless articles and tutorials and software packages that do that already. Try Google. A search that took me fewer than 5 seconds yielded at least 100 useful results. The EasyWindows Installer might be of some use to you, as well.

Once you've downloaded, thoroughly read the documentation for, and installed all three packages, come back with any specific problems you may be having and we may be able to help you.

liquedus
php-forum Active User
php-forum Active User
Posts: 266
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 5:18 am
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Contact:

Postby liquedus » Tue Jul 22, 2003 5:27 pm

it takes 15 minutes to setup that combination unless you are like me and are always skimping through documentation and then have to go back..... :roll:

User avatar
mike
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun May 04, 2003 4:26 am
Location: Athens
Contact:

Postby mike » Sat Jul 26, 2003 4:01 am

Simply install Appserv 2.1. A package with apache/mysql/php and easy installation. There is no need to install all these one by one. Just use this and will do all the work for you :wink:

http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/apps ... e?download

User avatar
swirlee
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2272
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2003 1:18 pm
Location: A bunk in the back
Contact:

Postby swirlee » Sun Feb 22, 2004 10:42 pm

It's worth noting that shahril's one and only post was more than 7 months ago. He's not coming back.

sigix
php-forum Active User
php-forum Active User
Posts: 364
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 9:39 pm
Location: /Earth/Xion

Postby sigix » Mon Feb 23, 2004 9:48 am

hay you can dowload PhpTriad (Php,Apache,Mysql) all in one package and with easy installation,
google search you can find alot sites for downloading.
-you don't need to make any configuration in this setup!

yes swirlee, but we need to complete the thread, so that if any one other is searching the same thing, can find the solution ready.

heri
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2004 6:56 am
Location: Philippines
Contact:

Postby heri » Sat Mar 13, 2004 7:01 am

I am a Newbie to PHP i really want to learn it ... coz we are migrating from VB6 to PHP and the 1st step is the PHP Installation .. thanks MIKE for the site ...

Vince1907
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 3:20 am

Postby Vince1907 » Wed Mar 17, 2004 3:33 am

Hi to all..

I am having problem with the installation on XP. In fact there shouldnt be a installation problem because php pages give the correct result when run from the command line but the problem is i cannot run them with internet explorer.Can anyone help me ??

User avatar
swirlee
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2272
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2003 1:18 pm
Location: A bunk in the back
Contact:

Postby swirlee » Wed Mar 17, 2004 10:41 am

Well, having php.exe spit out the right result is a far cry from having the web server set up correctly. What's your setup? If you're running Apache, what version and what lines did you add to httpd.conf? Did you remember to restart Apache? What address are you typing into IE, and what are you getting when you do?

Vince1907
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 3:20 am

Postby Vince1907 » Fri Mar 19, 2004 2:26 am

Thank you for your consideration swirlee, I have just noticed that i was silly for not running my scripts over http://localhost :-D

Everything is Ok now for the moment..

User avatar
swirlee
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2272
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2003 1:18 pm
Location: A bunk in the back
Contact:

Postby swirlee » Sun May 02, 2004 3:45 pm

That guide is intended for Apache 1.3 and you have Apache 2. Maybe this thread would be useful to you:

http://www.php-forum.com/p/viewtopic.php?t=2799


Return to “PHP Installation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests