Create a test Environment for existing PHP/MySQL website

Discuss server installationa nd configuration issues here

Moderators: egami, macek, gesf

Post Reply
element121
php-forum Fan User
php-forum Fan User
Posts: 628
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2015 11:46 am
Contact:

Fri Oct 16, 2015 1:07 pm

Hi Aslam,

The method I normally use is FTP, download all the files via FTP and then upload them to the test environment.
Take a backup / export the database and the restore / import the MySQL database to the test environment.

Hope that helps,
Jon

element121
php-forum Fan User
php-forum Fan User
Posts: 628
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2015 11:46 am
Contact:

Thu Oct 22, 2015 3:51 pm

Hi Aslam,

If you can set-up a sub-domain like http://test.mydomain.com or http://qa.mydomain.com and point it to the test server.

Hope that helps,
Jon

element121
php-forum Fan User
php-forum Fan User
Posts: 628
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2015 11:46 am
Contact:

Fri Oct 23, 2015 4:47 pm

Do you have access to the control panel for the server / hosting environment?
Normally the DNS can be configured there.

Regards,
Jon

Post Reply