Board index   FAQ   Search  
Register  Login
Board index PHP PHP Scripts

Counting problem

Links for php scripts

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

Counting problem

Postby icu90ucme » Sun Jul 20, 2003 11:07 pm

when i input the mysql code on the command line, i get an accurate result but when i try to use the same code in php i get a result of "Resource id#9" -- Does anybody know what this means

$query = mysql_query("SELECT COUNT(*) FROM pepinfo");

echo 'Number of people in database: '.$query.' ';

if confused on what i'm saying the variable $query prints out "Resource id # 9" instead of the number of people in my database.
icu90ucme
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2003 2:29 pm

Re: Counting problem

Postby WiZARD » Mon Jul 21, 2003 4:28 am

use this:
Code: Select all
$query = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM pepinfo");
User avatar
WiZARD
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1257
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2002 10:14 pm
Location: Ukraine, Crimea, Simferopol

Postby swirlee » Mon Jul 21, 2003 5:43 am

No, icu90ucme, it's not your query that's the problem. If you refer to the documentation, you'll see that a call to mysql_query() returns a resource identifier, which is exactly what you get when you try to echo its value. It doesn't return a string or a number -- you can't just echo it. Remember, if you're having trouble with a particular function, the best first step to solving it is reading the documentation.

Now, in order to make use of the resource, you have to use a function like mysql_fetch_array(), which will fetch a row from the result set and return it as an array. The examples on that page should be more than enough to get you started.
User avatar
swirlee
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 2272
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2003 1:18 pm
Location: A bunk in the back


Return to PHP Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Sponsored by Sitebuilder Web hosting and Traduzioni Italiano Rumeno and antispam for cPanel.