Functions

Ask about general coding issues or problems here.

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

Xerpher
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 164
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2002 8:25 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Functions

Postby Xerpher » Wed Aug 28, 2002 2:51 pm

Lets say I make a function that takes the inputed value and manipulates it then orints it out... That all works great for me, but I was wondering if I could make my function be used without having to put the '(' and ')' just like how the print function doesn't need those, it works with just the double quotes.

Jay

Postby Jay » Thu Aug 29, 2002 2:32 am

Any user defined function HAS to be in the format of:
functionName ([arg1.[arg2[arg3...]]]) { function parameters }

You can't create a function without the paranthesis otherwise it wouldn't know where to get the variables from!

Xerpher
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 164
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2002 8:25 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Postby Xerpher » Thu Aug 29, 2002 4:53 am

I didn't mean the actual function creation... I meant when you call the function. For example:

print ("Welcome!") // This outputs "Welcome!"
print "Welcome!" // This outputs "Welcome!"

Whether you use the parentheses or not, the print function still works... Can I do that to my own functions?

elitecodex
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2002 8:45 am
Location: East Coast, USA
Contact:

Postby elitecodex » Thu Aug 29, 2002 4:55 am

No
At least not to my knowledge

Jay

Postby Jay » Thu Aug 29, 2002 2:06 pm

No, don't try to copy the built-in PHP functions!

If you made your own function like so
function myFunct($arg) {
$arg .= $arg;
return $arg
}

you could write the following code:
print myFunct("Some text");

which will output
Some textSome text

But when you call a function, even one with no additional parameters, you have to use the paranthesis

Xerpher
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 164
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2002 8:25 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Postby Xerpher » Thu Aug 29, 2002 3:02 pm

Or I could make it simpler by doing this...

If you made your own function like so
function myFunct($arg) {
$arg .= $arg;
print $arg
}

you could write the following code:
myFunct("Some text");

which will output
Some textSome text

Jay

Postby Jay » Fri Aug 30, 2002 12:53 am

True, but I find the 'return' idea to be much more useful as a function because you've still got an element of control over the value it returns, and you can pass it through another function, say.

If you're function is printing it out, then you're stuffed if you want to manipulate it more!


Return to “PHP coding => General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot] and 2 guests