Protecting my PHP code

General discussions related to php

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

User avatar
imroue
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2002 6:53 am
Contact:

Protecting my PHP code

Postby imroue » Wed Jan 08, 2003 10:06 pm

I am creating an application in PHP, MySql, Javascript and (of course HTML), but I would like to know how i can protect my code from being stolen.

This application could be uploaded to the client's website (which also has his external website on it), and only accessed by the client. For example, a doctor's office would use this application to enter patients information, but I want to make sure (1) he doesn't take the code off of his server and give it to someone else (2) no one can grab the information from his database.

The database would eventually

Some ideas:
Maybe the site can stay local on his pc, but access the database that resides on his host.?
If so, is there such a thing as a PHP exe?
Or maybe an exe that would install and configure the PHP files on his pc with a link to the application that NOW resides on his pc.

I just need some ideas in protecting my application so I can sell it to other people as a software package. I like my application to remain a web application.

Any Ideas would be appreciated.

User avatar
Joan Garnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 387
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2002 2:56 am
Location: Mars
Contact:

Postby Joan Garnet » Thu Jan 09, 2003 6:14 am

I don't know about php.exe....

I would use Flash to do this.
You give him the swf and keep the .fla file (with the code) for you.
The php files wouldn't work without the swf, because you can create a variable that can be sent from Flash and then convert it to md5 hexadecimal value.
I dunno, Just an idea...
You'll have to install Mysql + Apache + Flash plugin in his machine.

User avatar
imroue
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2002 6:53 am
Contact:

Postby imroue » Thu Jan 09, 2003 6:37 am

Joan Garnet wrote:I don't know about php.exe....

I would use Flash to do this.
You give him the swf and keep the .fla file (with the code) for you.
The php files wouldn't work without the swf, because you can create a variable that can be sent from Flash and then convert it to md5 hexadecimal value.
I dunno, Just an idea...
You'll have to install Mysql + Apache + Flash plugin in his machine.


Thanks Joan,
That sounds like a good idea.
Do you think I can convert all my php, javascript, html to Flash?

User avatar
Joan Garnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 387
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2002 2:56 am
Location: Mars
Contact:

Postby Joan Garnet » Thu Jan 09, 2003 10:22 am

Of course you can :D
I wrote a little tutorial about it i this very forum -->
http://www.php-forum.com/p/viewtopic.php?t=922

It's not an easy job, but will give the application a good look :) and will be more prottected than before.

User avatar
Joan Garnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 387
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2002 2:56 am
Location: Mars
Contact:

Postby Joan Garnet » Sat Jan 11, 2003 1:16 am

I've found something very interesting for you,
You can ecode your php scripts!
http://www.ioncube.com/encoder/index.php
So you better use this method. You won't have to learn ActionScript :)

User avatar
imroue
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2002 6:53 am
Contact:

Postby imroue » Sat Jan 11, 2003 8:24 am

Joan Garnet wrote:I've found something very interesting for you,
You can ecode your php scripts!
http://www.ioncube.com/encoder/index.php
So you better use this method. You won't have to learn ActionScript :)


Thanks Joan,
I will look into that. Right now I am learning Java, maybe that would be the best solution. What do you think?

User avatar
Joan Garnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 387
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2002 2:56 am
Location: Mars
Contact:

Postby Joan Garnet » Sat Jan 11, 2003 3:33 pm

I have no idea about java... :)
But If you can comunicate with databases and create .exe, that would be actually very nice for you.
bye!

User avatar
WiZARD
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1257
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2002 10:14 pm
Location: Ukraine, Crimea, Simferopol
Contact:

Postby WiZARD » Sun Jan 12, 2003 5:10 am

imroue wrote:I will look into that. Right now I am learning Java, maybe that would be the best solution. What do you think?

Ha-ha-ha....
All depend from yours knowledge base of Java.....
Actualy you may protect your PHP scripts by Zend SafeGuard Suite™..... but this is commercial product....

User avatar
imroue
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2002 6:53 am
Contact:

Postby imroue » Sun Jan 12, 2003 8:58 am

WiZARD wrote:
imroue wrote:I will look into that. Right now I am learning Java, maybe that would be the best solution. What do you think?

Ha-ha-ha....
All depend from yours knowledge base of Java.....
Actualy you may protect your PHP scripts by Zend SafeGuard Suite™..... but this is commercial product....


I am knowledgeable enough with Java to get what I want fromt the database, but it's the graphical interface that will be a challenge.
:?

User avatar
WiZARD
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1257
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2002 10:14 pm
Location: Ukraine, Crimea, Simferopol
Contact:

Postby WiZARD » Sun Jan 12, 2003 2:57 pm

I mean what you may create by self protecting your site or project in Java....

User avatar
imroue
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2002 6:53 am
Contact:

Postby imroue » Sun Jan 12, 2003 3:04 pm

WiZARD wrote:I mean what you may create by self protecting your site or project in Java....


Sorry, I don't understand what you mean.? :?:

User avatar
WiZARD
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1257
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2002 10:14 pm
Location: Ukraine, Crimea, Simferopol
Contact:

Postby WiZARD » Sun Jan 12, 2003 11:23 pm

I mean what you may sreate protecting web project using Java

putu
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2003 1:28 am

Postby putu » Tue Apr 22, 2003 8:51 pm

about that Flash, i still don't get it.
What should i code with Flash.

thnx

andrewdavey
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2003 5:27 am
Location: Cornwall, England

php-cli.exe

Postby andrewdavey » Thu Jun 05, 2003 4:22 am

You can run php scripts from the command line using php-cli.exe (found in your php directory). Just go:

Code: Select all

php-cli.exe c:\script\whatever\my.php

User avatar
Redcircle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 830
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2003 10:42 pm
Location: Michigan USA
Contact:

Postby Redcircle » Fri Jun 06, 2003 6:38 am

http://www.zend.com/store/products/zend-encoder-pricing.php wrote:To receive a quotation for the Zend SafeGuard Suite, please contact our sales team.


Return to “PHP General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron