Board index   FAQ   Search  
Register  Login
Board index PHP PHP General

PHP and Netscape problem

General discussions related to php

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

PHP and Netscape problem

Postby imroue » Sun Mar 16, 2003 10:11 am

When I try to open a website in netscape 7.0 with a url such as this:
http://www.mywebsite.com/index.php
<BR>
I get an error like this:
"file could not be opened. Try saving to disk first"
<BR>
I have no problem when I try to open the site like this:
http://www.mywebsite.com/
<BR>
(index.php is the only file I have)
Any ideas??? :?:
User avatar
imroue
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2002 6:53 am

Postby Romantik » Sun Mar 16, 2003 10:31 pm

And and here PHP?
Romantik
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2003 2:55 am
Location: ../Ukraine/Kherson

Postby imroue » Mon Mar 17, 2003 6:27 am

Romantik wrote:And and here PHP?


What do you mean? :?:
User avatar
imroue
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2002 6:53 am

Postby Redcircle » Mon Mar 17, 2003 4:04 pm

if there are any header('Location:") calls make sure you use the full URL

Without code being posted I really don't know what is happening.
User avatar
Redcircle
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 830
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2003 10:42 pm
Location: Michigan USA

Postby imroue » Mon Mar 17, 2003 8:22 pm

Redcircle wrote:if there are any header('Location:") calls make sure you use the full URL

Without code being posted I really don't know what is happening.



This is the code that I have. It works with IE, but not Netscape
In Netscape it asks me to save the file or launch the file.
If I launch the file it works.
The problem is why does it ask me???:?

Code: Select all
<HEAD>

<SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript">
<!-- hide script from older browsers

// BEGIN - Positions the window in the center of the screen
//var w = 30, h = 10;
if (document.all || document.layers)
{
   w = screen.availWidth;
   h = screen.availHeight;
}






 function cheatCloseWin ()
 {
     win = top;

   //Open the destination u want
   destination = "window.open('http://www.cnn.com','openSignIn','left= 0, top=0, width= "+w+", height="+h+", toolbar,location,directories,status,menubar,scrollbars,resizable');"

   eval(destination);

     // lying: close the opener.
     win.opener = top;
     win.close ();

 }

 //-->
 </SCRIPT>
 </HEAD>
<BODY onLoad="cheatCloseWin()">





User avatar
imroue
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2002 6:53 am

Postby Redcircle » Tue Mar 18, 2003 9:36 am

Well... You posted javascript which has nothing to do with PHP. It probably doesn't work because there is no agreed upon standard on javascript. that's why I try to avoid it as much as possible. I really don't like rewriting things 3 or four time because somehting doesn't work.. but hey...


Good luck.. sorry I can't help ya
User avatar
Redcircle
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 830
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2003 10:42 pm
Location: Michigan USA

Postby imroue » Tue Mar 18, 2003 9:58 am

Redcircle wrote:Well... You posted javascript which has nothing to do with PHP. It probably doesn't work because there is no agreed upon standard on javascript. that's why I try to avoid it as much as possible. I really don't like rewriting things 3 or four time because somehting doesn't work.. but hey...


Good luck.. sorry I can't help ya


Well the problem is it works if I have a .htm extension
it just doesn't work with a .php extension on the file.
That is why i posted it here.

But thanks for your input anyways :) ...I tried :wink:
User avatar
imroue
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2002 6:53 am

Postby Xerpher » Tue Mar 18, 2003 1:14 pm

I tried your code and its definitely your server software, I'm afraid I can't be any more specific.
Xerpher
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2002 8:25 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: PHP and Netscape problem

Postby WiZARD » Thu Mar 20, 2003 12:45 am

Hi imroue!
I'm to very glad to see you again at our forum! :^)
First i'm too have a problem with this...
and second if you try to install prev ver of PHP you solve problem it's a bug of PHP v 4.3.1
User avatar
WiZARD
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1257
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2002 10:14 pm
Location: Ukraine, Crimea, Simferopol

Re: PHP and Netscape problem

Postby imroue » Sat Mar 22, 2003 1:09 pm

WiZARD wrote:Hi imroue!
I'm to very glad to see you again at our forum! :^)
First i'm too have a problem with this...
and second if you try to install prev ver of PHP you solve problem it's a bug of PHP v 4.3.1


Hi WiZARD,
Thanks for your response and this forum is one of the only forums that actually answers.. so there's no doubt I will come here when I need help - people here are GREAT!

Now with respect to this issue, I am not able to install a previous version of PHP because I am using a host who has their own version installed.... I guess there is no solution until PHP comes up with a patch..

Thanks! :wink:
User avatar
imroue
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2002 6:53 am


Return to PHP General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

Sponsored by Sitebuilder Web hosting and Traduzioni Italiano Rumeno and antispam for cPanel.

cron