Board index   FAQ   Search  
Register  Login
Board index PHP PHP Installation

Please help me

Forum for you who has PHP installation issues

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

Please help me

Postby KTottE » Sat Jun 15, 2002 1:41 am

Hello, my name is Tomas and you have to be gentle to me, since this is my first post on this forum.

Anyway, to the point. This is what I am using:

Apache 1.3.24
PHP 4.2.1 Binary
MySQL 4.0.1 Alpha
Windows XP (Not sure if this will make a difference)

So, I follow EVERY step in the Installation files. Both for PHP and Apache.
Everything is working. I launch an Apache "Service". No problems at all. Infact, I am getting nervous from the lack of problems.
Now, I read an online tutorial about how to install php4 and apache. Those steps are pretty much exactly the same as in the install.txt files. And then there's a section where it tells me that: "Now, it's time to check and see if you have done it right"
Sort of anyways.
It tells me to write this:
<? phpinfo() ?>
in notepad, and save it as phpinfo.php
All said and done, and I have the file sitting in my apache/htdocs folder.
Still no problems to be seen.
Then, apparently, I have to open up my web-browser and type in:
http://localhost/phpinfo.php
in the address field.
I'm thinking "Ok, this sounds about right."
I do so, and expect wonderful things to happen.

BUT!!!! PROBLEM!!!!

When I press "Enter" IE wants to download the file phpinfo.php.
Not what I was hoping for, since the tutorial said that phpinfo would put out a lot of info in my browser.

Can you please tell me what I am doing wrong?
Is the author of the tutorial correct? Or did he miss something in his tutorial, as in maybe I should have written something else than <? phpinfo() ?>

Here's a link to the tutorial, so you can check it out:

http://hotwired.lycos.com/webmonkey/00/ ... rogramming

Regards - Tomas
KTottE
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2002 1:20 am
Location: Sweden

Fine, don't help me then.

Postby KTottE » Sat Jun 15, 2002 10:04 am

It's been 9 hours since I posted this, so I am guessing that I won't be getting any help today.

Which is fine by me, because after having waited for 2 hours I couldn't stand it anymore. So, now I have it up and running.
It only took me 1½ hours work and a couple of re-installations of everything. Plus we had a power-spike that nearly fried my HDD. That was a nerve-wrecker I don't mind telling you.

- Tomas "KTottE" Landin, allmighty re-installer
KTottE
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2002 1:20 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Fine, don't help me then.

Postby admin » Sat Jun 15, 2002 10:16 pm

KTottE wrote:It's been 9 hours since I posted this, so I am guessing that I won't be getting any help today.

Which is fine by me, because after having waited for 2 hours I couldn't stand it anymore. So, now I have it up and running.
It only took me 1½ hours work and a couple of re-installations of everything. Plus we had a power-spike that nearly fried my HDD. That was a nerve-wrecker I don't mind telling you.

- Tomas "KTottE" Landin, allmighty re-installer


Welcome here . This is a forum discussion , it's not a 24H help desk :) .
I am sorry I can't help you.
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2002 7:49 am
Location: Rome, Italy

No problems =)

Postby KTottE » Sun Jun 16, 2002 3:33 am

I'm sorry if you were offended =)

Well, when I wrote the second post I was pretty upset. Windows will do that to you =)
KTottE
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 15, 2002 1:20 am
Location: Sweden

Postby Oleg Butuzov » Fri Jun 21, 2002 6:20 am

_________________________________________________________
By thee first
1) check. Are you install php on your PC
2) check. Are you write wey (on your PC) to PHP - compiller
3) check. Do you write in the httpd.conf php - files spesification...

test one time again....
_________________________________________________________
Try again with this code...

Code: Select all
<?
phpinfo();
?>

_________________________________________________________
And read this tutorial...
http://www.flashkit.com/tutorials/Backe ... ndex.shtml

also read installation docs from
here, here and here...
Oleg Butuzov
Last Samuray
Last Samuray
 
Posts: 831
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2002 3:09 am

Re: Please help me

Postby WiZARD » Fri Jun 21, 2002 7:48 am

If you want what all what you install working use stable version of Apache, PHP and MySAQL.
Cause all this soft firstly compile under Unix system and at Wintel not work correctly.... :(
User avatar
WiZARD
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1257
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2002 10:14 pm
Location: Ukraine, Crimea, Simferopol

try this

Postby fresiafunk » Mon Aug 12, 2002 9:29 am

:P if you're testing your installation a good way is create a php file with the next sentences :

<?
echo "Hello";
?>

name it test.php and save it.

if you can see the word HELLO on your screen after put http://localhost/test.php your installation was ok..

Remember start apache before runing any script, i use windows XP with php SAPI . You have to install it manually, moving some dll to windows/system32 and adding some lines to apache conf files.. ... (read the install.txt)

check if you put your php files in the correct directory.

this sample works for me the first time. :wink:

:twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
User avatar
fresiafunk
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 5:17 am
Location: CHILE - SOUTH AMERIKA - Land of Dreams and Girls


Return to PHP Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: landi and 1 guest

Sponsored by Sitebuilder Web hosting and Traduzioni Italiano Rumeno and antispam for cPanel.