newbie echoing help

General discussions related to php

Moderators: egami, macek, gesf

Post Reply
da9nlc
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2003 11:58 pm

Thu Feb 27, 2003 5:38 am

The first part of my script is working fine searching database and retrieving data held within according to searchterm. The html part is working to showing the number of records I know are held in the database.

I am using phpdev's program using windows 95 and my files are kept in the www file as advised by their instruction.

The problem is when I echo, or print even tried printf functions I dont seem to be able veiw them in my browser. This is the way I have defined and written the echo statement below:

<?php

include_once("databasequery.php");

$id= $result["id"];

{
while ($row = mysql_fetch_array($result));
echo (htmlspecialchars(stripslashes($row["$id"])));
}

<?

I have written and tried a getdate() script which worked fine so im a little lost on this one as the script is being parsed and Im receiving no errors. As I itterated above I have tried echo, print and printf to no avail.


Thanks Dan
DA CAMPBELL

Romantik
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2003 2:55 am
Location: ../Ukraine/Kherson
Contact:

Thu Feb 27, 2003 6:09 am

You have mistakes:

Code: Select all

<?php 
include_once("databasequery.php");

$id= $result["id"]; ??? What it?
 
while ($row = mysql_fetch_array($result));
{ #
echo (htmlspecialchars(stripslashes($row["$id"])));
}
# no use <?
?>
PHP+MySql= Love :)

da9nlc
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2003 11:58 pm

Thu Feb 27, 2003 9:03 am

<?

$d = $result["id"];

//declaring variables I got fom a tutorial. In fact I kept getting an Undefined Variable Error in he echo part below before I put it in.


{
while ($row = mysql_fetch_array($result));
echo (htmlspecialchars(stripslashes($row["$id])));
}
?>

// the echo section was taken from Sam's PHP Mysql Web Development.

What should it be

<?php
echo ($row["id"]
?>

I thought that to addslashes which works ok in the script I had to therefore use the stripslashes function on return.
Last edited by da9nlc on Thu Feb 27, 2003 9:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
DA CAMPBELL

da9nlc
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2003 11:58 pm

Thu Feb 27, 2003 9:55 am

da9nlc wrote:<?

$d = $result["id"];

//declaring variables I got fom a tutorial in tutorial. In fact I kept getting an Undefined Variable Error in he echo part below before I put it in.


{
while ($row = mysql_fetch_array($result));
echo (htmlspecialchars(stripslashes($row["$id])));
}
?>

// the echo section was taken from Sam's PHP Mysql Web Development.

What should it be

<?php
echo ($row["id"]
?>

I thought that to addslashes which works ok in the script I had to therefore use the stripslashes function on return.
DA CAMPBELL

Romantik
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2003 2:55 am
Location: ../Ukraine/Kherson
Contact:

Thu Feb 27, 2003 11:44 pm

echo (htmlspecialchars(stripslashes($row["$id"])));
PHP+MySql= Love :)

User avatar
Redcircle
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 826
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2003 10:42 pm
Location: Michigan USA
Contact:

Fri Feb 28, 2003 12:10 am

http://www.php-forum.com/p/viewtopic.php?t=1483

if you just bought that book.. take it back.. if you can't take it back.. burn it.

You will run into nothing but problems.

Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests