Board index   FAQ   Search  
Register  Login
Board index PHP PHP General

Getting IP address from user

General discussions related to php

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

Getting IP address from user

Postby sc » Wed Feb 05, 2003 5:39 am

Hi!

I'm new to PHP. I made a small survey form, a HTML page that submits a form to a PHP script, and I want to get the user's IP address, but the function GetHostByName ($REMOTE_ADDR) is returning the server's IP address!
Could someone help me?
Thanks in advance!

Sergio
sc
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2003 5:29 am

Postby Redcircle » Wed Feb 05, 2003 4:28 pm

The reason it is returning the ip address is because that is what the function does... returns the ip address. If you want the actual hostname you need to use gethostbyaddr()
User avatar
Redcircle
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 830
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2003 10:42 pm
Location: Michigan USA

Postby sc » Wed Feb 05, 2003 6:16 pm

Redcircle wrote:The reason it is returning the ip address is because that is what the function does... returns the ip address. If you want the actual hostname you need to use gethostbyaddr()



No, I don't want the hostname, I *want* the IP address. But I'm getting the IP address of the machine that is running PHP/MySQL (the server), not the client's IP address (that I want).

I need to get the IP address of the user accessing my survey form, but I don't know what is happening. The function GetHostByName ($REMOTE_ADDR) is returning the local server's IP, not the remote address.

Best regards,

Sergio
sc
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2003 5:29 am

Postby WiZARD » Wed Feb 05, 2003 11:10 pm

Code: Select all
$r_hostname = gethostbyaddr($REMOTE_ADDR);
if ($REMOTE_ADDR == "$r_hostname") {
    ....
}
User avatar
WiZARD
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1257
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2002 10:14 pm
Location: Ukraine, Crimea, Simferopol

Postby greg » Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:57 pm

I simply use:

$ipaddress = getenv("REMOTE_ADDR");

and then echo it out or store it in a database or whatever.

[/code]
greg
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2002 6:56 am

Postby WiZARD » Sat Feb 08, 2003 2:57 am

greg wrote:I simply use:
$ipaddress = getenv("REMOTE_ADDR");
and then echo it out or store it in a database or whatever.

In some situation than used virtual host or dynamic IP you get not correct IP or not get IP actually :?
User avatar
WiZARD
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1257
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2002 10:14 pm
Location: Ukraine, Crimea, Simferopol


Return to PHP General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Sponsored by Sitebuilder Web hosting and Traduzioni Italiano Rumeno and antispam for cPanel.

cron