Simple OOP question

General discussions related to php

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

Post Reply
User avatar
freshnet
php-forum Active User
php-forum Active User
Posts: 359
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 8:19 am
Location: Canada

Simple OOP question

Post by freshnet » Fri Sep 07, 2012 6:03 am

I am just starting to code in OOP again after not using it for ages, and I have run up against a blocker. Is there anything special that has to be done to use arrays in PHP classes? For example, let's say I have a function as follows (I've changed the names and values but the idea is the same)

Code: Select all

//I have declared the variables above this, including the one holding the array
public function pitcherRatingCalc() 
	{
	$this->pitches = array($this->fastball,$this->curve,$this->slider);
	$this->pitcherRating = array_sum($this->pitches);
	}
This is a very simple function and I'd think by calling

Code: Select all

$pitcher = new pitcher;
$pitcher->curve = 100;
$pitcher->fastball = 100;
$pitcher->pitcherRatingCalc; 
echo $pitcher->pitcherRating; 
that I would get the sum of the ratings, but instead I get nothing. Can someone tell me what I'm doing wrong please?

User avatar
freshnet
php-forum Active User
php-forum Active User
Posts: 359
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 8:19 am
Location: Canada

Re: Simple OOP question

Post by freshnet » Fri Sep 07, 2012 4:56 pm

I knew it was something simple, I was just missing the (), so I should have had $pitcher->pitcherRatingCalc();. On with the show!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests