Board index   FAQ   Search  
Register  Login
Board index php forum :: HTML JavaScript

form select, affected input form

Javascript coding ..

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

form select, affected input form

Postby rudy_keren » Sun Apr 09, 2006 8:08 am

hello guys,

i have a problem here. Can any one help me??

Ok, i have a page which contain a form like <select> and <input textfield>. There are 4 option in <select><option> form, i can say those option are ie:a,b,c and d. When i choosed the option c, it will be take efect for input form, and input will be disabled. when i choose others the input form will activated disable into enable. Can u get this point?? So when i choose value c in <select><option> form, i can not write anything in <input > text field. And when others option except d, i can fill the textfield.

Thats all for me. Thx for help.
rudy_keren
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 10:13 am
Location: indonesia

Postby sanketce » Sun Apr 09, 2006 10:42 pm

Please post your code portion here...
sanketce
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2005 3:23 am

Postby Coditor » Sun Apr 09, 2006 11:53 pm

I think he wants us to make the code :)

Code: Select all
<select name="somedropdown" onchange="document.getElementById('atextfield').readOnly=(this.value=='3');">
<option value="1">No problem</option>
<option value="2">Still ok</option>
<option value="3">Blocked input</option>
<option value="4">Fine again</option>
</select><br />
<input type="text" name="sometext" id="atextfield" />


Ofcourse it can be more complex than this if you want other criteria to enable or disable the textfield.

Coditor
Coditor
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 9:18 am
Location: Netherlands

What if i modified 2 input disabled ??

Postby rudy_keren » Tue Apr 11, 2006 1:11 pm

ok, thx for solutions, but i need one option in selected form effect 2 input textfield disabled ??? Can i get the source??

Thx b4..
rudy_keren
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 10:13 am
Location: indonesia

Postby Coditor » Wed Apr 12, 2006 12:21 am

I'm not sure what you mean but the example can be extended to do anything you want...

If you can give an example form in HTML and explain in detail what it should do I can help you along..

Coditor
Coditor
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 9:18 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby rudy_keren » Sat Apr 15, 2006 6:32 pm

I'm not sure what you mean but the example can be extended to do anything you want...

If you can give an example form in HTML and explain in detail what it should do I can help you along..

Coditor


Thx b4, what i mean is your code can be implemented on 2 textfield, here is the source

Code: Select all

<form id="form1" name="form1" method="post" action="">
  <select name="somedropdown" >
<option value="1">No problem</option>
 <option value="2">Still ok</option>
 <option value="3">Blocked input</option>
 <option value="4">Fine again</option>
 </select></select>
 <input type="text" name="sometext" id="atextfield" />
  <input type="text" name="sometext" id="btextfield" />
</form>



When the user select number 3, which mean "Blocked Input" , i need those 2 textfield are blocked. Thx !
rudy_keren
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 10:13 am
Location: indonesia

Postby Coditor » Sun Apr 16, 2006 3:09 am

So you want both textfields to be disabled?

Code: Select all
<select name="somedropdown" onchange="document.getElementById('atextfield').readOnly=(this.value=='3');document.getElementById('btextfield').readOnly=(this.value=='3');">


If it gets more complex, create a separate function that's called:

Code: Select all
<script language="javascript" type="text/javascript">
function selectDrop(obj) {
   document.getElementById('atextfield').readOnly = (obj.value == '3');
   document.getElementById('btextfield').readOnly = (obj.value == '3');
}
</script>
<select name="somedropdown" onchange="selectDrop(this);">


Coditor
Coditor
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 9:18 am
Location: Netherlands


Return to JavaScript

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Sponsored by Sitebuilder Web hosting and Traduzioni Italiano Rumeno and antispam for cPanel.