whats wrong?!?!?!?!

Codes here !

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

tranquillo
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2002 6:48 pm
Location: katrineholm
Contact:

whats wrong?!?!?!?!

Postby tranquillo » Sun Jan 05, 2003 7:45 pm

:evil: damnit! :evil:
now I'm getting pissed.

am I just to dumb to get this or what?

I've been to many different tutorials and I never get this thing working... I just want to enter some data into a database, how hard can it be???

I posted a topic a while ago with some php code that didn't work... and now I've been looking at some other solutions to the problem... a few look a lot like and this is one of them..

this is inserted to a html page:
--------------------------------
<form name="links" method="post" action="add_links.php">
<p>Title :
<input type="text" name="title">
<br>
<br>
URL :
<input type="text" name="url">
</p>
<p>
<input type="submit" name="Submit" value="Submit">
</p></form>
--------------------------------
and is linked to add_links.php
add_links.php looks like this:
--------------------------------
<?php
$db = mysql_connect("localhost","user","password");
mysql_select_db (database name);
$query = "INSERT INTO links(title , url)
VALUES('$title','$url')";
$result = mysql_query($query);
echo ("Link entered.");
?>
--------------------------------
now, what happens is that the database is updated (wich is a step in the right direction). but only the $id is updated... nothing else is entered into the database... I had a similar code and the same thing happened there.. only the id was entered...
--------------------------------
the table "links":
(
id mediumint(10) NOT NULL auto_increment,
title varchar(80),
url varchar(80),
PRIMARY KEY (id)
)
--------------------------------
and if you wanna know, I'm not just looking to steal some code, I wanna know how it works.

thanks

User avatar
Joan Garnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 387
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2002 2:56 am
Location: Mars
Contact:

Postby Joan Garnet » Mon Jan 06, 2003 11:46 am

mmmm,
have a look at the other answer, maybe it has something to do with it...
http://www.php-forum.com/p/viewtopic.php?t=1005

If not, just post back.
bye!

tranquillo
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2002 6:48 pm
Location: katrineholm
Contact:

Postby tranquillo » Mon Jan 06, 2003 2:21 pm

after compareing a thousend codes I finaly got it working.. :) thanks...

the way I solved it is that I use a part of the code 10 times to get the 10 latest inputs out of the database. is there a way to do that without copying the code...

printf("<b>First Name:</b> %s<br>\n", mysql_result($result2,0,"namn"));
printf("<b>e-mail adress:</b> %s<br>\n", mysql_result($result2,0,"epost"));
printf("<b>Message</b>: %s<br>\n", mysql_result($result2,0,"txt"));

this is the code I copy and just change "($result2,0,"txt")" to "($result2,1,"txt")" and so on...

and another thing, for another thing...
I'm thinking of using php on other places on the site... and there's a list that I'd like to have every second line in a different color... is that possible to do at one place or do I have to make up a table and set the color on everyone... it should be first a white background, then a grey, then another white and then another grey. and so on... and here I really would need to have one code to list all entrys because the number of entrys will change...

I'm feeling like a real pain in the ***...


thanks ;)

User avatar
Joan Garnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 387
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2002 2:56 am
Location: Mars
Contact:

Postby Joan Garnet » Mon Jan 06, 2003 4:52 pm

With this code you see if a number is odd or even:

Code: Select all

echo ($var%2) ? "Odd!" : "Even!";


You can use it to assign two different colors when you output an array from a Mysql query.

Code: Select all

i=0;
while ( $row = mysql_fetch_array ( $result ) ){
   echo ($var%2) ? "color1" : "color2";
   echo $row[0];
}


bye :)

tranquillo
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2002 6:48 pm
Location: katrineholm
Contact:

Postby tranquillo » Wed Jan 08, 2003 9:16 am

hi...

I don't seem to get any " mysql_fetch_array " tags working. I've tried before and I just dont get it... could you explain how it works?

thanks.

tranquillo
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2002 6:48 pm
Location: katrineholm
Contact:

Postby tranquillo » Wed Jan 08, 2003 9:36 am

Warning: mysql_fetch_array(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in c:\phpdev\www\public\databas\testcolor.htm on line 26

line 26:
while ( $row = mysql_fetch_array ($result)){

User avatar
Joan Garnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 387
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2002 2:56 am
Location: Mars
Contact:

Postby Joan Garnet » Wed Jan 08, 2003 3:14 pm

Post the piece of code where the Mysql query is, so we can have a look :)

Anyway:
$result is the variable that contents the query and you use mysql_fetch_array to itinerate through all rows. Then use echo $row[0]; (or $row["my_row_name"]; ) to get the values of the named row/s.

Code: Select all

while ( $row = mysql_fetch_array ( $result ) ){
   echo $row["name"]."<br>";
   echo $row["email"]."<br>";
   echo $row["website"]."<p>";
}

tranquillo
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2002 6:48 pm
Location: katrineholm
Contact:

Postby tranquillo » Thu Jan 09, 2003 6:46 am

<?php

$db = mysql_connect("localhost", "root");
mysql_select_db("seko",$db);

$sql = "SELECT * FROM arbetsgivare";

$result = mysql_query($sql);

while ( $row = mysql_fetch_array ($result)){
echo ($var%2) ? "#999999" : "#333333";
echo $row[0];
}

?>

this is the whole thing...


so if I do
echo $row["name"]."<br>";
echo $row["email"]."<br>";
echo $row["website"]."<p>";
if there's 5 rows they all will show. right?

name1
email1
website1

name2
email2

and so on... right?

and the color thing... the:
i=0;
while ( $row = mysql_fetch_array ( $result ) ){
echo ($var%2) ? "color1" : "color2";
echo $row[0];
}
does it color the text or the background?

User avatar
Joan Garnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 387
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2002 2:56 am
Location: Mars
Contact:

Postby Joan Garnet » Thu Jan 09, 2003 10:19 am

This is a example, use it as you want:

Code: Select all

$var=0;
while ($row = mysql_fetch_array ($result)) {
   echo ($var%2) ? "#999999<br>" : "#333333<br>";
   $var++;
   
}


bye!

tranquillo
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2002 6:48 pm
Location: katrineholm
Contact:

Postby tranquillo » Fri Jan 10, 2003 2:46 pm

thank you sooo much... :)
took me a while to get the colors into the bgcolor tags and get the tables to look good... but now it's just perfect. just the way I wanted it...

I love PHP
I love MySQL
I love this place

User avatar
Joan Garnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 387
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2002 2:56 am
Location: Mars
Contact:

Postby Joan Garnet » Fri Jan 10, 2003 3:33 pm

Me too,
I love it all
:D

tranquillo
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2002 6:48 pm
Location: katrineholm
Contact:

Postby tranquillo » Sun Jan 12, 2003 8:07 pm

here we go again.. ;)

----------------------------
----------------------------

<?php

$db = mysql_connect("localhost", "root");
mysql_select_db("seko",$db);

$kid = $_POST["kid"];
$namn = $_POST["namn"];
$gadr = $_POST["gadr"];
$postnr = $_POST["postnr"];
$ort = $_POST["ort"];
$sek = $_POST["sek"];

if ($Submit) {

$query = "INSERT INTO klubb(klubbID,namn,gatuadress,postnummer,ort,sektion)
VALUES('$kid','$namn','$gadr','$postnr','$ort','$sek')";
$result = mysql_query($query);

$result2 = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM klubb order by klubbID desc",$db);
}
if ($myrow = mysql_fetch_array($result2))
{
printf("<b>Klubb ID:</b> %s<br>\n", mysql_result($result2,0,"klubbID"));
printf("<b>Klubbnamn:</b> %s<br>\n", mysql_result($result2,0,"namn"));
printf("<b>Adress:</b> %s<br>\n", mysql_result($result2,0,"gatuadress"));
printf("<b>Postnummer:</b> %s<br>\n", mysql_result($result2,0,"postnummer"));
printf("<b>Ort:</b> %s<br>\n", mysql_result($result2,0,"ort"));
printf("<b>Sektion:</b> %s<br>\n", mysql_result($result2,0,"sektion"));
} else {
echo "Sorry, no records were found!";
}

?>

----------------------------
----------------------------

<form name="links" method="post" action="<?php echo $PHP_SELF?>">
<p><br>
<table border="0" class="textsmallbold">
<tr>
<td> Klubb ID : </td>
<td><input type="text" name="kid"></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>Klubbens namn : </td>
<td><input type="text" name="namn"></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>Gatuadress : </td>
<td><input type="text" name="gadr"></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>Postnummer : </td>
<td>Ort :</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td><input type="text" name="postnr">
<td><input type="text" name="ort"></td></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>Sektion : </td>
<td> <select name="sek">
<option value="V&auml;g&amp;Ban sydost">V&auml;g&amp;Ban sydost</option>
<option value="V&auml;g&amp;Ban nordost">V&auml;g&amp;Ban nordost</option>
</select></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td><input type="submit" name="Submit" value="Submit"></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td colspan="2" align="left">&nbsp;</td>
</tr>
</table></p>
</form>

----------------------------
----------------------------

what am I doing wrong? this code used to work... but I moved it around and at the beginning it was split up on two pages... and now it don't work... is it the --- action="<?php echo $PHP_SELF?>"> --- thing that screws thing up? coz that's the only thing I can think of... (it's 5am, so I might have missed a couple of things though) and I don't know how to do the php_self thing...

thanks

User avatar
Joan Garnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 387
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2002 2:56 am
Location: Mars
Contact:

Postby Joan Garnet » Mon Jan 13, 2003 3:29 am

$PHP_SELF should work,
have you tried to change this statement for the URL of the page in the html way??

Anyway,
which error do you get??

tranquillo
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2002 6:48 pm
Location: katrineholm
Contact:

Postby tranquillo » Mon Jan 13, 2003 4:25 pm

I worked it out... I think it was the if ($Submit) { part that was tha problem I solved it by making it if ($kid) { instead...


at least I think that's it... :) anyways, it works now...

thanks for the help

-s


Return to “mySQL & php coding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests