putting data in mysql from php form help

Ask about general coding issues or problems here.

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

Post Reply
Dmitrit Plakhotnik
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2002 6:56 am

Post by Dmitrit Plakhotnik » Mon Nov 25, 2002 11:19 pm

Hi! Yes, of course you script is not woking. I think this code help you undestend you error :

Filename: insert.php

Code: Select all

<html>
<body>
<?php
if ((!$First_Name)||(!$Last_Name)||(!$How_many)||(!$Children)) {

$db = mysql_connect("localhost", "root", "my_password");

mysql_select_db("mydb",$db);

$sql = "INSERT INTO employees (First_Name, Last_Name, How_Many, Children) VALUES
('$First_Name','$Last_Name','$How_many','$Children')";

mysql_db_query("myd",$sql);
header("locate: done.php");
}

?>



<form method="post" action="insert.php">

First name:<input type="Text" name="First_Name"><br>

Last name:<input type="Text" name="Last_Name"><br>

How Many:<input type="Text" name="How_Many"><br>

Children:<input type="Text" name="Children"><br>

<input type="Submit" name="submit" value="Enter information">

</form>
</body>
</html>


Oleg Butuzov
Last Samuray
Last Samuray
Posts: 831
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2002 3:09 am

Post by Oleg Butuzov » Tue Nov 26, 2002 5:58 am

Dmitriy this is one string from your code...

Code: Select all

if ((!$First_Name)||(!$Last_Name)||(!$How_many)||(!$Children)) { 


do you think it is true ? =)



Code: Select all

<html> 
<body>
<?php
if (isset($First_Name) && isset($Children) && isset($Last_Name) && isset($How_many)) {

$db = mysql_connect("localhost", "root", "my_password");

mysql_select_db("mydb",$db);

$sql = "INSERT INTO employees (First_Name, Last_Name, How_Many, Children) VALUES
('$First_Name','$Last_Name','$How_many','$Children')";

mysql_db_query("myd",$sql);
header("locate: done.php");
}

?>



<form method="post" action="insert.php">

First name:<input type="Text" name="First_Name"><br>

Last name:<input type="Text" name="Last_Name"><br>

How Many:<input type="Text" name="How_Many"><br>

Children:<input type="Text" name="Children"><br>

<input type="Submit" name="submit" value="Enter information">

</form>
</body>
</html>

Dmitrit Plakhotnik
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2002 6:56 am

Post by Dmitrit Plakhotnik » Thu Nov 28, 2002 6:22 am

Yes, I think it's true.
Because, if any fields not empty this record will be insering into DB.




Ya vas dobre rozumiju, panove :).

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest