Board index   FAQ   Search  
Register  Login
Board index System Administration Server installation and configuration

My relative paths are weired

Discuss server installationa nd configuration issues here

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

My relative paths are weired

Postby david_amer » Fri Sep 16, 2005 3:22 am

I have set up a server using php5 and iis 6, it all seems to work untill i put moodle on it. ithe problem stems from the fact that moodle uses "./foldername/filename.php" instead of just "foldername/filename.php" what setting am i missing to get the moodle style relative paths to work, if i edit the paths to remove the ./ it all seems to work for that page but there are thousands upon thousands of them and i dont fancy going through each one removing the every mention of ./
Thanks in advance.
david_amer
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 3:09 am

Postby Alexej Kubarev » Fri Sep 16, 2005 10:46 am

first of all: use Apache instead of IIS6 as is a piece of cr*p... i hate it.. Its looking nice but its unstable..
Second of all: apache doesnt have any problems with ./ as its ALWAYS means current folder, while IIS still doesnt understand that (i guess iis missed that lesson when it was explained :) )
Third of all: what a h*ll is moodle ?!
User avatar
Alexej Kubarev
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2223
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 7:15 am
Location: Täby, Stockholms län

Postby david_amer » Mon Sep 19, 2005 5:53 am

Moodle is a "virtual learning platform" but in reality its just a combined forum/servey/anything else that you mght need to teach people. have a look at http://www.moodle.org if you are interested, it seems quite good but im only using it cos i work for a school and they want it.
david_amer
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 3:09 am

Postby Alexej Kubarev » Mon Sep 19, 2005 8:05 am

im not really interested in it... hehe... not now anyways.. but as i said: use apache and the problem should be solved.. :)
User avatar
Alexej Kubarev
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2223
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 7:15 am
Location: Täby, Stockholms län

Try this!

Postby katun » Sun Nov 06, 2005 12:42 am

If you still want to use IIS go to the "My Computer" icon and make right-click on them,
select "Properties" option on contextual menu and go to the complex tab,
make click on variable button and search in list for "path".

Select the "path" variable and edit them.
Here you can add your own path to the folder where is the dll files needed for IIS.
For example I have this path variable set:
%SystemRoot%\system32;%SystemRoot%;%SystemRoot%\System32\Wbem;C:\PHP\ext

The "ext" folder is full of dll files needed to run different type of databases.
Don't forghet to put ";" between your added path and the rest of the text.
You can add you path in front or back to the rest of text.

I hope you understand my explantion!
:D
katun
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 6:46 am


Return to Server installation and configuration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

Sponsored by Sitebuilder Web hosting and Traduzioni Italiano Rumeno and antispam for cPanel.

cron