Board index   FAQ   Search  
Register  Login
Board index php forum :: php coding PHP coding => General

Header problem

Ask about general coding issues or problems here.

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

Header problem

Postby cooldownguy86 » Sun Nov 24, 2002 3:51 pm

Hello, all php pro.
I did this
Code: Select all
<html>
<head>
<title>
</title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
</head>
<body>
<?php $id=$_GET['id'];
switch ($id)
{case 'home': header("Location: home.php"); break;
case 'story': header("Location: story.php"); break;} ?>
</body>
</html>


and this came out when goto.php?id=story:
Warning: Cannot add header information - headers already sent by (output started at D:\Inetpub\wwwroot\php\gb\goto.php:9) in D:\Inetpub\wwwroot\php\gb\goto.php on line 12

why?
cooldownguy86
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 2:59 pm

Postby WillemM » Sun Nov 24, 2002 11:11 pm

You will need this instead of your code:

=== START OF DOCUMENT ===

<?php

$id = $_GET['id'];

switch ($id)
{
case 'home':
header("Location: home.php");
break;
case 'story':
header("Location: story.php");
break;
}

?>

=== END OF DOCUMENT ===

To make a long story short: Remove all html code before the php code.
Because headers must be sent first in PHP and then in the html code.
WillemM
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2002 10:28 am

Postby Oleg Butuzov » Mon Nov 25, 2002 2:32 am

do you remember what i told you last time ?
I told you - "read documentation"...
Oleg Butuzov
Last Samuray
Last Samuray
 
Posts: 831
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2002 3:09 am

Re: Header problem

Postby mjr » Tue Nov 26, 2002 9:06 am

cooldownguy86 wrote:Hello, all php pro.
I did this
Code: Select all
<html>
<head>
<title>
</title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
</head>
<body>
<?php $id=$_GET['id'];
switch ($id)
{case 'home': header("Location: home.php"); break;
case 'story': header("Location: story.php"); break;} ?>
</body>
</html>


and this came out when goto.php?id=story:
Warning: Cannot add header information - headers already sent by (output started at D:\Inetpub\wwwroot\php\gb\goto.php:9) in D:\Inetpub\wwwroot\php\gb\goto.php on line 12

why?


you cannot output headers (they are really HEADERS!!!!) after you output ANYTHING in output stream (like echoing, putting html code etc).
mjr
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2002 6:35 am


Return to PHP coding => General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Sponsored by Sitebuilder Web hosting and Traduzioni Italiano Rumeno and antispam for cPanel.