allow indexes for one directory

Discuss server installationa nd configuration issues here

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

Bangas
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 8:13 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

allow indexes for one directory

Postby Bangas » Fri Aug 05, 2005 1:38 am

I was wondering how to allow (if possible) indexes for just one directory?
Or is it allow for all, or none?
I am running apache 2.0 on win32 XP.

Thanks.

User avatar
gesf
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1717
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2002 5:03 am
Location: Portugal / Sweden
Contact:

Postby gesf » Fri Aug 05, 2005 2:02 am

Code: Select all

<Directory "/directory_you_want_the_index">
     Options Indexes
</Directory>
Or in your case:

Code: Select all

"\directory_you_want_the_index"
:)

User avatar
Alexej Kubarev
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2223
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 7:15 am
Location: Täby, Stockholms län
Contact:

Postby Alexej Kubarev » Fri Aug 05, 2005 5:30 am

or simple .htaccess but in that case you will have to set AllowOverride in httpd.conf

Bangas
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 8:13 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

no worky

Postby Bangas » Sun Aug 07, 2005 4:05 am

sorry guys, but that no worky.
I put it in under the place that says,

Code: Select all

# Each directory to which Apache has access can be configured with respect
# to which services and features are allowed and/or disabled in that
# directory (and its subdirectories).
#
# First, we configure the "default" to be a very restrictive set of
# features. 
#

Is this not the correct place?

User avatar
gesf
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1717
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2002 5:03 am
Location: Portugal / Sweden
Contact:

Postby gesf » Sun Aug 07, 2005 5:46 pm

Can you post the code ? I don't have an httpd.conf in my head :)

User avatar
Alexej Kubarev
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2223
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 7:15 am
Location: Täby, Stockholms län
Contact:

Postby Alexej Kubarev » Thu Aug 25, 2005 1:21 pm

I agree: it pretty hard to keep httpd.conf inthe head... And it my case its httpd.conf, vhost.conf php.conf and modules.conf.. hehe. i needed to separate the whole file into smaller parts that i access all the time.. hehehe


Return to “Server installation and configuration”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests