Board index   FAQ   Search  
Register  Login
Board index php forum :: Database mySQL & php coding

I can't get any manuipulation of my mysql database online

Codes here !

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

I can't get any manuipulation of my mysql database online

Postby Mh_0 » Thu Nov 14, 2002 7:34 am

I hope someone out there can help me (being a newbie)
I am writing what is probably quite a simple website using mainly php, I have sorted being able to read all the information from the various databases, but I can't seem to get any form of manipulation to work,
below is a cut down version my manipulation code, has anyone got any ideas?

Code: Select all
<?
 if ($savecruise) {
 
   $db = mysql_connect("localhost", "root", "homer");
   mysql_select_db("Cruises",$db);
 
 $sql = "UPDATE general SET Cruisenum=$cruisenum,PI=$pi,Institute=$institute,Location=$location, sailingport=$sailingport,completion=$completion, year=$year WHERE general.Cruisenum=$cruisenum";

 $result = mysql_query($sql);

  echo "Cruise Information Updated.\n";

 $cruisepage = $cruisenum;
 };
?>
    <?
 if ($deletebutton) {
 
    $db = mysql_connect("localhost", "root", "homer");

    mysql_select_db("Cruises",$db);
 
    $sql = "DELETE FROM general WHERE Cruisenum=$cruisenum";   

    $result = mysql_query($sql);

    echo "$sql Record deleted!";
 
 };
?>
    <?
  if ($newbutton) {
 
  $db = mysql_connect("localhost", "root", "homer");

  mysql_select_db("Cruises",$db);

  $sql = "INSERT INTO general (Cruisenum,PI,Institute,Location) VALUES ('$cruisenum','$pi','$institute','$location')";

  $result = mysql_query($sql);

  echo "New Cruise Entered\n";
};
?>

Thanks in advance
Mh_0
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2002 7:13 am
Location: UK

Postby Oleg Butuzov » Thu Nov 14, 2002 10:07 am

ALTER
CREATE
DESCRIBE
DROP
GRANT
LOAD
SET
SHOW

documents here

way can be easy... use phpMyAdmin =) web-based mysql data base manager... =)
Oleg Butuzov
Last Samuray
Last Samuray
 
Posts: 831
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2002 3:09 am

Postby Mh_0 » Fri Nov 15, 2002 12:51 am

Ummmm I can't use phpmyadmin in its release format, I need to do it in the webpage because there are lots of tables that need to be altered at once, and the users need to be able to modify data rather than the webmaster
Mh_0
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2002 7:13 am
Location: UK

Re: I can't get any manuipulation of my mysql database onlin

Postby DutchBen » Fri Nov 15, 2002 11:19 am

Mh_0 wrote:
$db = mysql_connect("localhost", "root", "homer");
mysql_select_db("Cruises",$db);

$sql = "UPDATE general SET Cruisenum=$cruisenum,PI=$pi,Institute=$institute,Location=$location, sailingport=$sailingport,completion=$completion, year=$year WHERE general.Cruisenum=$cruisenum";

$result = mysql_query($sql);



I can't see any major fault in your code here, but a few hints. Take your connection code out of the if branches and put it in the top of your script, and possibly in an include file you can use in multiple pages.
Its important to use quotes, so Institute='$institute' instead of Institute=$institute. The query will fail if you don't.
If these things don't help you'll have to be more specific as to what is actually not working.

!! You can use phpMyAdmin to test your querys against your database !!
DutchBen
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2002 10:28 am
Location: Amsterdam

Postby Mh_0 » Wed Nov 20, 2002 1:27 am

Its sorted, it was sorted by putting `s around the field names and 's around the variables
Mh_0
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2002 7:13 am
Location: UK

Postby Oleg Butuzov » Wed Nov 20, 2002 3:02 am

Oleg Butuzov
Last Samuray
Last Samuray
 
Posts: 831
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2002 3:09 am


Return to mySQL & php coding

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests

Sponsored by Sitebuilder Web hosting and Traduzioni Italiano Rumeno and antispam for cPanel.