Board index   FAQ   Search  
Register  Login
Board index php forum :: php coding PHP coding => General

Database value problems

Ask about general coding issues or problems here.

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

Database value problems

Postby elitecodex » Mon Jul 15, 2002 6:05 am

This one is throwing me for a loop; and I have stared at the code and output for about 3 hours now... Cant figure it out so I figured that I would see if someone else would like to take a crack at it. This is the problem.

I get some information from a database. Based on this information, I display a drop down box with some other information in it (so they can update the values). My problem is the function at the bottom of the page that gets the current value and displays the drop down box wont select the right one. I keep on getting ERROR (which is in my default). But as you can see, I output what Im testing against; and it outputs "No". Then the kicker... after the select statement, it says that my variable is empty 8O ????

I am completely confused... I have provided the source code and a sample screen shot of what I see (exactly). Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you

Links
-------
Source Code
Screen Shot (I made it low resolution but you can see the output)

Will
elitecodex
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2002 8:45 am
Location: East Coast, USA

Re: Database value problems

Postby WiZARD » Mon Jul 15, 2002 10:52 pm

elitecodex wrote:This one is throwing me for a loop; and I have stared at the code and output for about 3 hours now... Cant figure it out so I figured that I would see if someone else would like to take a crack at it. This is the problem.

I get some information from a database. Based on this information, I display a drop down box with some other information in it (so they can update the values). My problem is the function at the bottom of the page that gets the current value and displays the drop down box wont select the right one. I keep on getting ERROR (which is in my default). But as you can see, I output what Im testing against; and it outputs "No". Then the kicker... after the select statement, it says that my variable is empty 8O ????

I am completely confused... I have provided the source code and a sample screen shot of what I see (exactly). Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you

Links
-------
Source Code
Screen Shot (I made it low resolution but you can see the output)

Will


Hi Will again!
i see your script, and i think what you need carefuly see at your variable $id_of_page in one place it's arrage in other place it's simple variable.
And more i'll be limit your "comments_20" in html for 20 char or check lenth in PHP.
And once more, I'm be place next at your script:
Code: Select all
<?php
session();
............
destroy_session();
?>

for more security....
User avatar
WiZARD
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1257
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2002 10:14 pm
Location: Ukraine, Crimea, Simferopol


Return to PHP coding => General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

Sponsored by Sitebuilder Web hosting and Traduzioni Italiano Rumeno and antispam for cPanel.