how to replace <frame> with <table> and <div&

Discussing Html . Code , Software , other

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

filot
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 7:01 am

how to replace <frame> with <table> and <div&

Postby filot » Mon Jun 28, 2004 7:16 am

I would like to use <table> instead of <frame> . the problem is that with table I cannot direct all the target of the left towards the center cell . with frame we can use 'target' but with the table I do not find a solution. cordially
Last edited by filot on Tue Jun 29, 2004 12:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
swirlee
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2272
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2003 1:18 pm
Location: A bunk in the back
Contact:

Postby swirlee » Mon Jun 28, 2004 7:25 am

Well, you don't. Frames are designed for what you have in mind, tables are not. You can change the src of a frame, you cannot change the src of a table cell.

filot
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 7:01 am

Postby filot » Mon Jun 28, 2004 8:02 am

swirlee wrote:Well, you don't. Frames are designed for what you have in mind, tables are not. You can change the src of a frame, you cannot change the src of a table cell.

I just seek to find to have a cell of left where I put the menu of navigation and a cell at the medium which contien consulted pages. with frame we can use :

Code: Select all

<frame src="main.php" name="main">
<frame src="left.php" name="left" target="main" scrolling="NO" noresize>

User avatar
ruturajv
php-forum Super User
php-forum Super User
Posts: 1280
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2003 9:42 am
Location: Mumbai, India
Contact:

Postby ruturajv » Mon Jun 28, 2004 7:47 pm

there is another option to your path...
using div tags.., iframe
and thus using DHTML
would definately suite your need

filot
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 7:01 am

Postby filot » Tue Jun 29, 2004 12:11 am

ruturajv wrote:using div tags.., iframe

I use the table tags :

Code: Select all

<table width="972" height="597" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" >
 <tr align="left" valign="top" width="972" height="397" >
 <td  width="135" height="397" align="left" valign="top" >
<div width="1" height="1" align="left" valign="top"  class="bg1"> <img src="IMG/dot.gif"></div>
  <div width="135" height="80" align="left" valign="top"><?php require('left_image.php3'); ?></div>
<?php require('left_frame.php3'); ?>
    
   </td>
       
 <td width="700" height="400" valign="top" align="left">
 <?php
 require('center_frame.php3') ; ?>
</td>
   
<td width="124" height="300"><?php require('right_frame.php3'); ?></td>
</tr>
</table>

i wd like to send all the url consulted to the center_frame.php3 file

User avatar
ruturajv
php-forum Super User
php-forum Super User
Posts: 1280
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2003 9:42 am
Location: Mumbai, India
Contact:

Postby ruturajv » Thu Jul 01, 2004 8:01 pm

encapsulate the table with an iframe..
and the iframe page will have the table in it...

and on the link...

Code: Select all

<script type="text/javascript">
function changelink() {
  d = document.getElementById("idnameofiframe");
  d.src = page.htm
}
</script>
<a href="javascript changelink('page.htm')">Page</a>
<iframe src="somepage.htm" id="idnameofiframe" width... height...></iframe>


Return to “HTML Basics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests