Installation php5 with Apache2

Forum for you who has PHP installation issues

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

xyoon
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2003 10:57 pm

Installation php5 with Apache2

Postby xyoon » Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:56 pm

Hi all...

Just want to share sth here... since I saw plenty of people having difficulty installing these on windows (if you search google for "how to install php5 with apache2", just as what I did... but one of them was a solution though :lol: )

To anyone who would like to install php5 with Apache2 on windows machine...

I just managed to get the php info() up... 8)

If you had installed your Apache and PHP5, and also follow the install.txt for PHP, do the following...

In httpd.conf (in the apache installation directory), under the "Dynamic Shared Object (DSO) Support" section, add this:

Code: Select all

LoadModule php5_module c:/php/sapi/php4apache2.dll
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php


Note: if you have space on your path, put a double quote
example: "c:/Program Files/php/sapi/php4apache2.dll"
Note the space between Program Files

Then, the following is the important steps since the above is actually described in the install.txt.

Code: Select all

copy x:/php/php4ts.dll to x:/php/sapi
copy x:/php/dlls/iconv.dll to x:/php/sapi



Mine works fine with the above steps...
Good luck!

Hmm... don't you all think we need a section for PHP5...
Hopefully the admin will create a new section for that...
By the way, here is a some resources for php5
http://www.phpvolcano.com/forum/
They start talking about projects...

User avatar
swirlee
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2272
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2003 1:18 pm
Location: A bunk in the back
Contact:

Postby swirlee » Tue Aug 12, 2003 7:45 am

Thanks for this useful post, xyoon. It took me a bit of fiddling, too, to get PHP up and running with Apache2 when I first tried it. The biggest difficulty was figuring out that I no longer needed the AddModule directive.

WiZARD, do you want to make this a topic Sticky?

xyoon
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2003 10:57 pm

Postby xyoon » Tue Aug 12, 2003 5:26 pm

Hi Swirlee,

So, we don't need the "AddModule directive"?
Then, how can apache knows which .dll files for the php it should use...

Hmm... gonna try later and see :)

User avatar
swirlee
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2272
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2003 1:18 pm
Location: A bunk in the back
Contact:

Postby swirlee » Tue Aug 12, 2003 5:35 pm

xyoon wrote:So, we don't need the "AddModule directive"?
Then, how can apache knows which .dll files for the php it should use...


As I understand it, the Apache 2 API is vastly different from the old API, and the manner in which modules are loaded is quite different. As I recall, we used to have to call LoadModule to load each module into Apache, and then AddModule to specify in which order they were to be added to the.. well, I'll say "processing queue" for lack of the right term. In Apache 2, apparently, the modules themselves take care of this. I don't claim to understand it all, but here's what the page that I linked to above says:

The AddModule and ClearModuleList directives no longer exist. These directives were used to ensure that modules could be enabled in the correct order. The new Apache 2.0 API allows modules to explicitly specify their ordering, eliminating the need for these directives.

User avatar
WiZARD
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1257
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2002 10:14 pm
Location: Ukraine, Crimea, Simferopol
Contact:

Postby WiZARD » Wed Feb 25, 2004 3:19 am

swirlee wrote:
xyoon wrote:So, we don't need the "AddModule directive"?
Then, how can apache knows which .dll files for the php it should use...


As I understand it, the Apache 2 API is vastly different from the old API, and the manner in which modules are loaded is quite different. As I recall, we used to have to call LoadModule to load each module into Apache, and then AddModule to specify in which order they were to be added to the.. well, I'll say "processing queue" for lack of the right term. In Apache 2, apparently, the modules themselves take care of this. I don't claim to understand it all, but here's what the page that I linked to above says:

The AddModule and ClearModuleList directives no longer exist. These directives were used to ensure that modules could be enabled in the correct order. The new Apache 2.0 API allows modules to explicitly specify their ordering, eliminating the need for these directives.


strange....
all time i'm copy like that: copy x:/php/php4ts.dll c:\windows, and never have problem.... and i think what in PHP5 i'm do that too.....
by the way, i use PHP5 only than get release......

Csoft
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 8:52 pm
Location: Viet Nam
Contact:

Apache 2, php 5, mysql 5 ~~> Error???

Postby Csoft » Sun May 23, 2004 3:38 am

This is some of the things I have done for integrate apache 2, php 5, mysql 5 alpha:

1. make sure that php could run fine without the mysql support on.
2. edit php.ini: extension_dir=C:\php\ext
3. In c:\windows\system32, I have php5ts.dll only, nothing else related to php5
4. in c:\windows, I have php.ini, nothing else related to php5
5. in apache2/bin directory, I have libmysql.dll
6. in php directory, I have libmysql.dll
7. in php/ext, I have libmysql.dll

As you can see, I have libmysql.dll in three different places.


But i still have problem. The error message when i restart apache by Apache monitor Service :


the procedure entry point mysql_drop_db could not be located in the dynamic link library LIBMYSQL.dll


and then:

PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library 'C:\php\ext\php_mysql.dll"-the specified module could not be found

Let me one sugesstion!

Csoft
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 8:52 pm
Location: Viet Nam
Contact:

Postby Csoft » Sun May 23, 2004 4:14 pm

Give me the answer for my trouble plz! I still get these error????????

User avatar
WiZARD
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1257
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2002 10:14 pm
Location: Ukraine, Crimea, Simferopol
Contact:

Postby WiZARD » Mon May 24, 2004 9:10 am

Csoft wrote:Give me the answer for my trouble plz! I still get these error????????

Try find at your HDD this lib LIBMYSQL.dll and copy to c:\windows folder

Do you have C:\php\ext\php_mysql.dll?

User avatar
WiZARD
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1257
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2002 10:14 pm
Location: Ukraine, Crimea, Simferopol
Contact:

Postby WiZARD » Mon May 24, 2004 9:13 am

I'm still not install php5. :sad: Wait release 8O

User avatar
ruturajv
php-forum Super User
php-forum Super User
Posts: 1280
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2003 9:42 am
Location: Mumbai, India
Contact:

Postby ruturajv » Mon May 24, 2004 7:35 pm

yes I'm waiting for the final release... [STABEL one] :-D :grin: :grin: 8O

Csoft
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 8:52 pm
Location: Viet Nam
Contact:

Postby Csoft » Wed May 26, 2004 7:08 am

:) i really done with your's but still have these error! i dont know why.???

User avatar
WiZARD
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1257
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2002 10:14 pm
Location: Ukraine, Crimea, Simferopol
Contact:

Postby WiZARD » Sat Jul 03, 2004 1:52 am

Csoft wrote::) i really done with your's but still have these error! i dont know why.???

PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library 'C:\php\ext\php_mysql.dll"-the specified module could not be found
do you have this lib in this folder?

User avatar
swirlee
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2272
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2003 1:18 pm
Location: A bunk in the back
Contact:

Re: PHP5 & MYSQL!

Postby swirlee » Mon Jul 12, 2004 9:16 am

KLiFF wrote:please tell me if what i say is wrong.


What you say is wrong. SQLite is a completely different product than MySQL and bears no relation. MySQL is still recommended for large projects.

Contradiction
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 13, 2006 10:35 am

Postby Contradiction » Sun Aug 13, 2006 10:47 am

Hey Csoft, is ur php & apache working ? does ur browser scripting ur .php files? or u just have problem in php talking to mysql ?

Contradiction
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 13, 2006 10:35 am

Postby Contradiction » Sun Aug 13, 2006 10:50 am

damn that post was in 2004 looooooooooooooooooool, sorry did not watch out for the time ;), laterz :D looooooooooooooooooooooool damn i look an idi*t :P lolz

Gayathiribala
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 8:58 am

Re: Installation php5 with Apache2

Postby Gayathiribala » Fri Jun 11, 2010 9:17 am

Hi,

I have installed Apapche 2.2.15 and PHP5.3.2. After editing Apache config file httpd, am not able to start Apache server.
When i start the server, it displays 'The requested operation has failed!' error. When i start the same from CMD propmt, it displays 'System error 5 has occured. Access is denied.'.

I have added the following lines in Apache Conf file,

AddType application/x-httpd-php .php
AddType application/x-httpd-php-source .phps

Installation path:
Apache - C:\Program Files (x86)\Apache Software Foundation\Apache2.2
PHP - C:\PHP

I am facing this problem for a long time.
Kindly help me solve this. Its urgent..

Thanks in advance.


Return to “PHP Installation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest

cron