noob: connecting to MySQL via SSH w/probs

Installation and configuration iussues

Moderators: egami, macek, gesf

Post Reply
FliesLikeABrick
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2003 9:54 pm
Location: NY
Contact:

Sat Nov 29, 2003 7:11 am

i am just learning how to use SQL, and being that i want to use it on my site which i host out of my basement, i installed SQL on that machine. when trying to connec to to it via SSH, get the following error message:
Image

i also get this same problem when i try to connect to it from the server computer through SSH. is this the best way to connect from a server for database administration, or am i missing some key part to using SQL? it may also be something in my installation, im not quite sure. any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm just starting a site project, my first with SQL and look forward to at least getting the server working so i can get started on the database and php.

(please respond as if talking to a dumbass.)
Thanks.
Last edited by FliesLikeABrick on Tue Oct 12, 2004 7:29 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
swirlee
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2257
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2003 1:18 pm
Location: A bunk in the back
Contact:

Sat Nov 29, 2003 2:18 pm

Please don't cross-post. It'll only make mods angry.
Image

Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests