Board index   FAQ   Search  
Register  Login
Board index php forum :: php coding PHP coding => General

can't get my session working

Ask about general coding issues or problems here.

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

can't get my session working

Postby cho@ » Wed Sep 17, 2003 7:18 am

Hi,


I m creating a session after a user login...
here an extract where I create it

Code: Select all
if($found ==1){
                     $Result = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM user WHERE user='$user'", $Link);
                     $Row = mysql_fetch_array($Result);
                     session_start();
                     session_register('privileges');
                     session_register('status');
                     $HTTP_SESSION_VARS['privileges'] = $Row['privileges'];
                     $HTTP_SESSION_VARS['status'] = $Row['status'];
                     
      }


Then further in my page I have a link to some other page...normal you will say.. but then I dont understand...
In this new page I do session_start and when I do session_id();
I get the SID BUT when I do

Code: Select all
print($HTTP_SESSION_VARS['status']);


There is nothing output.. Why my Array is empty???

Help please....

thanks
francois
cho@
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2002 8:58 am
Location: UK

Postby DigitalRice » Wed Sep 17, 2003 4:09 pm

as far as i know, the session_start() function should be the first line of your code meanning that it should be the first line of code prior to any output from the server including blank space.

it should be something like this.

<?php
session_start();
?>

<html>
your html stuff here or mix php stuff here
<?php

?>
</html>
DigitalRice
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2003 10:05 pm

sid

Postby ruturajv » Wed Sep 17, 2003 9:18 pm

Are u sure you are passsing SID

as follows
Code: Select all
echo("<a href='somepage.php" . SID . "'>Somepage</a>");
User avatar
ruturajv
php-forum Super User
php-forum Super User
 
Posts: 1280
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2003 9:42 am
Location: Mumbai, India

Re: can't get my session working

Postby Redcircle » Wed Sep 17, 2003 10:52 pm

cho@ wrote:Hi,
Code: Select all
if($found ==1){
                     $Result = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM user WHERE user='$user'", $Link);
                     $Row = mysql_fetch_array($Result);
                     session_start();
                     session_register('privileges');
                     session_register('status');
                     $HTTP_SESSION_VARS['privileges'] = $Row['privileges'];
                     $HTTP_SESSION_VARS['status'] = $Row['status'];
                     
      }



thanks
francois


If you are using php 4.1 or greater then you should be using superglobals i.e. $_SESSION[''] and not session_register.

check the stickies for some info on this.
User avatar
Redcircle
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 830
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2003 10:42 pm
Location: Michigan USA


Return to PHP coding => General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher and 4 guests

Sponsored by Sitebuilder Web hosting and Traduzioni Italiano Rumeno and antispam for cPanel.