Table formatting..!

Discussing Html . Code , Software , other

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

php-punk
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2003 2:10 am
Location: Leeds, Uk
Contact:

Table formatting..!

Postby php-punk » Thu Sep 04, 2003 2:44 am

rite i got a prob with PHP and HTML, i am creating a News page, the news is to be aligned centrally on the pages within table, i would like all the table the same with (so its nice and neat :P)

but, im using:

Code: Select all

<td width="400">

but the table always manages to be twice the width of the page rather than a nicely formatted paragraph

User avatar
swirlee
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2272
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2003 1:18 pm
Location: A bunk in the back
Contact:

Re: Table formatting..!

Postby swirlee » Thu Sep 04, 2003 9:09 am

php-punk wrote:

Code: Select all

<td width="400">

but the table always manages to be twice the width of the page rather than a nicely formatted paragraph


This really depends what's inside the table. HTML tables have always been a pain in the arse and I don't miss them one nit. Anyway, can you give us a link to the page in question?

php-punk
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2003 2:10 am
Location: Leeds, Uk
Contact:

Postby php-punk » Thu Sep 04, 2003 11:13 am

right i would like the table layout in:

http://free.hostdepartment.com/p/punkboii/main.htm

to look like:

http://punk-style.to-j.com/

if you get the idea..

User avatar
swirlee
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2272
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2003 1:18 pm
Location: A bunk in the back
Contact:

Postby swirlee » Thu Sep 04, 2003 12:45 pm

Unsurprisingly, your problem is that you have 211 characters of "fgdffgggfdfgdffg..." at the bottom of your page. Delete it. Or put some spaces in it. HTML tables will shape themselves to fit the content, even if it's bigger than their set width.

User avatar
tryton
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 8:25 am
Location: Joze
Contact:

Postby tryton » Thu Sep 04, 2003 3:42 pm

Or try putting a <br> tag to put the letters on seperate lines if you need them (can't see why) but just in case.


Return to “HTML Basics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest