Installation php5 with Apache2

Forum for you who has PHP installation issues

Moderators: egami, macek, gesf

Post Reply
xyoon
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2003 10:57 pm

Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:56 pm

Hi all...

Just want to share sth here... since I saw plenty of people having difficulty installing these on windows (if you search google for "how to install php5 with apache2", just as what I did... but one of them was a solution though :lol: )

To anyone who would like to install php5 with Apache2 on windows machine...

I just managed to get the php info() up... 8)

If you had installed your Apache and PHP5, and also follow the install.txt for PHP, do the following...

In httpd.conf (in the apache installation directory), under the "Dynamic Shared Object (DSO) Support" section, add this:

Code: Select all

LoadModule php5_module c:/php/sapi/php4apache2.dll
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php


Note: if you have space on your path, put a double quote
example: "c:/Program Files/php/sapi/php4apache2.dll"
Note the space between Program Files

Then, the following is the important steps since the above is actually described in the install.txt.

Code: Select all

copy x:/php/php4ts.dll to x:/php/sapi
copy x:/php/dlls/iconv.dll to x:/php/sapi



Mine works fine with the above steps...
Good luck!

Hmm... don't you all think we need a section for PHP5...
Hopefully the admin will create a new section for that...
By the way, here is a some resources for php5
http://www.phpvolcano.com/forum/
They start talking about projects...
regards

User avatar
swirlee
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2257
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2003 1:18 pm
Location: A bunk in the back
Contact:

Tue Aug 12, 2003 7:45 am

Thanks for this useful post, xyoon. It took me a bit of fiddling, too, to get PHP up and running with Apache2 when I first tried it. The biggest difficulty was figuring out that I no longer needed the AddModule directive.

WiZARD, do you want to make this a topic Sticky?
Image

xyoon
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2003 10:57 pm

Tue Aug 12, 2003 5:26 pm

Hi Swirlee,

So, we don't need the "AddModule directive"?
Then, how can apache knows which .dll files for the php it should use...

Hmm... gonna try later and see :)
regards

User avatar
swirlee
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2257
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2003 1:18 pm
Location: A bunk in the back
Contact:

Tue Aug 12, 2003 5:35 pm

xyoon wrote:So, we don't need the "AddModule directive"?
Then, how can apache knows which .dll files for the php it should use...


As I understand it, the Apache 2 API is vastly different from the old API, and the manner in which modules are loaded is quite different. As I recall, we used to have to call LoadModule to load each module into Apache, and then AddModule to specify in which order they were to be added to the.. well, I'll say "processing queue" for lack of the right term. In Apache 2, apparently, the modules themselves take care of this. I don't claim to understand it all, but here's what the page that I linked to above says:

The AddModule and ClearModuleList directives no longer exist. These directives were used to ensure that modules could be enabled in the correct order. The new Apache 2.0 API allows modules to explicitly specify their ordering, eliminating the need for these directives.
Image

User avatar
WiZARD
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1240
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2002 10:14 pm
Location: Ukraine, Crimea, Simferopol
Contact:

Wed Feb 25, 2004 3:19 am

swirlee wrote:
xyoon wrote:So, we don't need the "AddModule directive"?
Then, how can apache knows which .dll files for the php it should use...


As I understand it, the Apache 2 API is vastly different from the old API, and the manner in which modules are loaded is quite different. As I recall, we used to have to call LoadModule to load each module into Apache, and then AddModule to specify in which order they were to be added to the.. well, I'll say "processing queue" for lack of the right term. In Apache 2, apparently, the modules themselves take care of this. I don't claim to understand it all, but here's what the page that I linked to above says:

The AddModule and ClearModuleList directives no longer exist. These directives were used to ensure that modules could be enabled in the correct order. The new Apache 2.0 API allows modules to explicitly specify their ordering, eliminating the need for these directives.


strange....
all time i'm copy like that: copy x:/php/php4ts.dll c:\windows, and never have problem.... and i think what in PHP5 i'm do that too.....
by the way, i use PHP5 only than get release......
"Sex,Drugs and Rock&Roll " replaced at "Sucks,Bugs and Plug&Play";
Image

User avatar
WiZARD
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1240
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2002 10:14 pm
Location: Ukraine, Crimea, Simferopol
Contact:

Mon May 24, 2004 9:10 am

Csoft wrote:Give me the answer for my trouble plz! I still get these error????????

Try find at your HDD this lib LIBMYSQL.dll and copy to c:\windows folder

Do you have C:\php\ext\php_mysql.dll?
"Sex,Drugs and Rock&Roll " replaced at "Sucks,Bugs and Plug&Play";
Image

User avatar
WiZARD
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1240
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2002 10:14 pm
Location: Ukraine, Crimea, Simferopol
Contact:

Mon May 24, 2004 9:13 am

I'm still not install php5. :sad: Wait release 8O
"Sex,Drugs and Rock&Roll " replaced at "Sucks,Bugs and Plug&Play";
Image

User avatar
ruturajv
php-forum Super User
php-forum Super User
Posts: 1279
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2003 9:42 am
Location: Mumbai, India
Contact:

Mon May 24, 2004 7:35 pm

yes I'm waiting for the final release... [STABEL one] :-D :grin: :grin: 8O

User avatar
WiZARD
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1240
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2002 10:14 pm
Location: Ukraine, Crimea, Simferopol
Contact:

Sat Jul 03, 2004 1:52 am

Csoft wrote::) i really done with your's but still have these error! i dont know why.???

PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library 'C:\php\ext\php_mysql.dll"-the specified module could not be found
do you have this lib in this folder?
"Sex,Drugs and Rock&Roll " replaced at "Sucks,Bugs and Plug&Play";
Image

User avatar
swirlee
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2257
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2003 1:18 pm
Location: A bunk in the back
Contact:

Mon Jul 12, 2004 9:16 am

KLiFF wrote:please tell me if what i say is wrong.


What you say is wrong. SQLite is a completely different product than MySQL and bears no relation. MySQL is still recommended for large projects.
Image

User avatar
Haddep36
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 2:26 am
Location: US
Contact:

Mon Jun 15, 2015 11:05 pm

Thanks for the information, can, I too can help you something?

Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest