Board index   FAQ   Search  
Register  Login
Board index php forum :: Database mySQL & php coding

Got error without warning

Codes here !

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

Got error without warning

Postby vsiry » Tue May 14, 2013 4:35 am

hey guys, i'm a newbie in PHP and i have problem with mysql database. please help me to fix it.

i use a simple dbconnect script like this
Code: Select all
<?
$server = "localhost";
$user = "root";
$pass = "";
$db = "try";
mysql_connect($server, $user, $pass);
mysql_select_db($db);
?>


the script works without getting any error.
but the problem comes when i want to try making a simple registration user.
this is my registration submit script.
Code: Select all
<?
include "dbconnect.php";
$username = $_POST['username'];
$fullname = $_POST['fullname'];
$password1 = md5($_POST['password1']);
$password2 = md5($_POST['password2']);
$group = $_POST['group'];
$number = $_POST['number'];
if ($password1 == $password2)
{
$query = "SELECT * FROM user WHERE username = '$username'";
$result = mysql_query($query);
$data = mysql_num_rows($result);
if ($data == 0)
{
$query = "INSERT INTO user(username, fullname, password, group, number) VALUES('$username', '$fullname', '$password1', '$group', '$number')";
$result = mysql_query($query);
echo "Welcome<b> ".$fullname."</b><br>Please Log in";
}
else echo "Username is already used, <a href=\"signup.php\" style=\"color:red\">Return</a>";
}
else echo "Password is incorrect, <a href=\"signup.php\" style=\"color:red\">Return</a>";
?>


when use the registration script above, it works successfully.
but when i checked my database on phpmyadmin there's nothing changed on 'user' table in database 'try'.
the user table is still blank.
what should i do? i really don't understand because i got no warning error on my script when i run it.
vsiry
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 4:34 am

Re: Got error without warning

Postby sandeep605085 » Tue May 14, 2013 12:14 pm

Hi,

does your code able to connect to mysql?

try below code to get the error if any but you should not use this die function when you build your live site.

mysql_connect($server, $user, $pass) or die(mysql_error());
mysql_select_db($db) or die(mysql_error());

also try echoing the variable inside your if condition and try to run that echoed query directly from phpmyadmin to check query is correct.

$query = "INSERT INTO user(username, fullname, password, group, number) VALUES('$username', '$fullname', '$password1', '$group', '$number')";
echo $query;

Thanks,
Sandeep Agrawal
Mindfire Solutions.
User avatar
sandeep605085
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 6:00 am
Location: Mindfire Solutions


Return to mySQL & php coding

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests

Sponsored by Sitebuilder Web hosting and Traduzioni Italiano Rumeno and antispam for cPanel.

cron