Board index   FAQ   Search  
Register  Login
Board index php forum :: Database mySQL & php coding

How To update records

Codes here !

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

How To update records

Postby psonawane » Fri Jan 11, 2013 9:27 am

Hi all following is my code to update record in a database table. but it gives me following error / notice says:

Notice: Undefined index: price in C:\xampp\htdocs\RK_files\update.php on line 34

Notice: Undefined index: coname in C:\xampp\htdocs\RK_files\update.php on line 35

Notice: Undefined index: destination in C:\xampp\htdocs\RK_files\update.php on line 36


Please Help me! :(
Code: Select all
<html>
    <head>
        <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8">
        <title></title>
        <link rel="stylesheet" href="main.css" type="text/css">
    </head>
    <body background="media/dark_blue_background-wallpaper-1920x1200.jpg">
    <center>
        <?php
        session_start();
        if ($_SESSION['uname']) {
            ?>   
            <div id="bus">
                <p><img src="media/rk_logo2.png" height="100" width="220"></p>
                <ul>
                    <li style="float: right; padding-right: 10px; font-family: sans-serif; font-weight: bold;">You are Logged in as, <?php echo "" . $_SESSION['uname'] . "!"; ?></li>
                </ul><br>
                <div id="menu">               
                    <ul>
                        <li><a href="add.php">Add Bus and Service</a></li>
                        <li><a href="edit.php">Change Bus and Service</a></li>
                        <li><a href="del.php">Delete Bus and Service</a></li>
                        <li><a href="show.php">View Bus and Service</a></li>                       
                    </ul>               
                </div>
                <?php
            }

            $rate1 = $_POST['price'];
            $company1 = $_POST['coname'];
            $destination1 = $_POST['destination'];
            $connect = mysql_connect("localhost", "root", "pranit");

            if (!$connect) {
                die("could not connect" . mysql_error());
            }
            mysql_select_db("rk_bookings", $connect);

            $query = mysql_query("UPDATE bus_details SET price='$rate1' WHERE company='$company1' AND destination='$destination1'");
           
            if ($query) {
                echo "Records Updated!!!";
            } else {
                echo mysql_error();
            }
           
            mysql_close($connect);
           
            ?>
            </body>
            </html>
psonawane
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 9:21 am

Re: How To update records

Postby onadvance » Tue Jan 22, 2013 12:05 pm

Hi,

I'm not sure it can help you.

The first time you try to upload a POST the server can not recognize it if it's NOT any value in the post.
So
You need to specify, if there is not any value, the POST is empty.
somthing like that:

if(!isset($_POST['price'])) $_POST['price'] = "" ;
if(!isset($_POST['coname'])) $_POST['coname'] = "" ;
if(!isset($_POST['destination'])) $_POST['destination'] = "" ;

You need to have this specification at the top of your page

It hope it helps
onadvance
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 10:36 am


Return to mySQL & php coding

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Sponsored by Sitebuilder Web hosting and Traduzioni Italiano Rumeno and antispam for cPanel.