n00b - passing variables! from HTML to PHP?

Codes here !

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2003 2:10 am
Location: Leeds, Uk

n00b - passing variables! from HTML to PHP?

Postby php-punk » Sun Feb 02, 2003 5:27 am

right i made a stats page, but is tehre anyway i can use java script to active the PHP page to record the stats?! this is my script for the php page:

Code: Select all

//getting the user's IP address
//getting the user's Port

//Getting the user's Browser (Agent)

//getting the referries URL

//Put all this into a Database for later viewing:

//connect to the DB

//select DB

//setting the query in a variable, the query, in this case it INSERTS to the db
$query="INSERT INTO cstats (`ip`,`port`,`browser`,`reffer`,`date`) VALUES ('$Rip','$Rport','$b','$r','');";

//running the actual query


al i know it that it would need ot be done over a command line, but not a clue how?!

any help greatly appriciated

User avatar
Joan Garnet
Posts: 387
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2002 2:56 am
Location: Mars

Postby Joan Garnet » Sun Feb 02, 2003 12:29 pm

I would reload the page with a javascript setTimeOut() calling to a fuction that would reload the page sending some GET variables that then would update the database.

Return to “mySQL & php coding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest