Board index   FAQ   Search  
Register  Login
Board index System Administration Server installation and configuration

Can't get Apache Server to start!?

Discuss server installationa nd configuration issues here

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

Can't get Apache Server to start!?

Postby aksdesigns » Thu Oct 22, 2009 12:36 pm

Hey guys,

I've been trawling the internet and trying lots of fixes but I can/t get my apache web server to run!

It installed OK with localhost as server and domain name.

I'm using vista and i tried running "monitor apache servers" as admin but when I click start it still tells me:

"The requested operation has failed!"

When I click "start" as an admin I get this error:


Code: Select all
"httpd.exe: Could not reliably determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using 192.168.1.2 for ServerName
<OS 10048>Only one usage of each socket address <protocol/network address/port> is normally permitted.   :make_sock: could not bind to address 0.0.0.0:80
no listening sockets available, shutting down
Unable to open logs"


The entry line for ServerName in the httpd.conf file looks like this:


Code: Select all
ServerName localhost


and the Listen one looks like this:


Code: Select all
Listen 80


I turned off my firewall and that didn't change anything. Tried to make a static IP to be able to forward the port: 80 on my router but failed to create the static IP (internet wouldnt work)

I checked if anything is using port 80 by doing "netstat -a" in command prompt and 0.0.0.0:80 is in a listening state?

I have no clue what to do to get it working =/

Any ideas?

Hope someone can help!

Thanks,

Adam
aksdesigns
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 12:34 pm

Re: Can't get Apache Server to start!?

Postby aksdesigns » Thu Oct 22, 2009 12:56 pm

Ok, so I feel like an idiot but Skype was using port 80. Anyway that I can have both running??
aksdesigns
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 12:34 pm

Re: Can't get Apache Server to start!?

Postby Thorby68 » Wed Dec 16, 2009 3:26 pm

I also experienced this and read so much about stopping firewalls and disabling skype. Even if i disabled my firewall (I do not use skype) the error still occurred.

I found the K-service which is used in peer-to-peer applications like bbc iplayer was causing a conflict.

Once the I'd disabled the k-service I was able to complete my apache installation, and successfully install PHP, mysql and mysql admin.

Once this was resolved, apache, and all other applications lived happily together with the k-service, which I now run automatically on start-up with apache, etc.

I hope this helps.
Thorby68
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 2:50 pm

Re: Can't get Apache Server to start!?

Postby fkoskotas » Sun Apr 01, 2012 4:25 pm

whats ports can i choose from to run the service?
fkoskotas
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2012 6:50 pm


Return to Server installation and configuration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Sponsored by Sitebuilder Web hosting and Traduzioni Italiano Rumeno and antispam for cPanel.