Board index   FAQ   Search  
Register  Login
Board index System Administration Server installation and configuration

Apache Config

Discuss server installationa nd configuration issues here

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

Apache Config

Postby nabire » Thu Sep 15, 2005 6:24 am

I make a simple web based application (PHP MySQL) that implemented in LAN, used Apache as a web server.
When I access the application from the host, I can use http://localhost/path

But when I try to access it from the client and use http://server/path, it doesn't work.

I should use
http://server/path/index.php

Is it the apache config problem ?
Please help ... Thanks.
nabire
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 6:21 am

Postby gesf » Fri Sep 16, 2005 1:46 am

You must use localhost... or the corresponding IP address!
What plataform/server are you running under ?
User avatar
gesf
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1718
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2002 5:03 am
Location: Portugal / Sweden

Postby Alexej Kubarev » Fri Sep 16, 2005 10:43 am

this is weird that the index.php is needed to access it from the client.

I also wonder if insted of the "server" you put a domain name or IP address.. as this is a must..
But after all you use HTTP:// so i hope you do.. do not use machine names :)
User avatar
Alexej Kubarev
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2223
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 7:15 am
Location: Täby, Stockholms län

Postby nabire » Sun Sep 18, 2005 10:40 pm

Server OS : Windows 2000 Server
Web server : Apache
Server name : stargate

When I access from the server, I use http://localhost/blog
It automatically open index.php on the blog directory.

But, when I access from another computer in LAN and I use http://stargate/blog,
It doesn't work, I should use http://stargate/blog/index.php

Thanks ...
nabire
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 6:21 am

Postby Alexej Kubarev » Mon Sep 19, 2005 1:48 am

no: you should not use http://server_name
you shoulöd use IP address of the server.. you may also bind your DHCP settings to redirect some domain to the specific internal IP address..

but http://server_name will now work...
use a domain like normal people do... or IP...
User avatar
Alexej Kubarev
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2223
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 7:15 am
Location: Täby, Stockholms län


Return to Server installation and configuration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Sponsored by Sitebuilder Web hosting and Traduzioni Italiano Rumeno and antispam for cPanel.

cron