URL Rewrite help please :)

Discuss server installationa nd configuration issues here

Moderators: egami, macek, gesf

Post Reply
jmd87
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 9:47 am

Wed Nov 22, 2017 8:30 am

Hi,

I have recently moved from Windows Servers to Linux and am trying to get the Pretty URL's and have managed to get it from:
I would like to get it to retrieve the actual name of the page rather than the ID number of the page for example
The code I am currently using is below and my sites are hosted on 1&1 if that helps at all:

Code: Select all

RewriteEngine on 
RewriteBase /
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ page.php?id=$1 [L,QSA]
I am new to this and have tried reading up on it but can't seem to get any further and am banging my head against a wall!

Thankyou for anyhelp :)

Kind Regards
Joe

User avatar
hyper
php-forum Fan User
php-forum Fan User
Posts: 525
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 5:52 pm

Wed Nov 22, 2017 10:11 am

Are you using a CMS (Drupal, Joomla, Wordpress etc.)?

jmd87
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 9:47 am

Wed Nov 22, 2017 10:13 am

hyper wrote:
Wed Nov 22, 2017 10:11 am
Are you using a CMS (Drupal, Joomla, Wordpress etc.)?
Hi,

I'm using my own cms.

Thanks :)
Joe

User avatar
hyper
php-forum Fan User
php-forum Fan User
Posts: 525
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 5:52 pm

Wed Nov 22, 2017 4:20 pm

And in your own CMS, all pages were processed by one page?

jmd87
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 9:47 am

Wed Nov 22, 2017 11:10 pm

hyper wrote:
Wed Nov 22, 2017 4:20 pm
And in your own CMS, all pages were processed by one page?
Hi,

Yes all processed by "page.php"

Kind regards
Joe

User avatar
hyper
php-forum Fan User
php-forum Fan User
Posts: 525
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 5:52 pm

Thu Nov 23, 2017 9:27 am

Why do you have

Code: Select all

?id=$1
on

Code: Select all

RewriteRule ^(.*)$ page.php?id=$1 [L,QSA]
?

Was this how it was done using the other server?

Post Reply