Board index   FAQ   Search  
Register  Login
Board index PHP PHP Installation

Cannot use regular Internet with Apache installed

Forum for you who has PHP installation issues

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

Cannot use regular Internet with Apache installed

Postby graciedee » Sat Jan 22, 2005 3:49 pm

I'm having major problems. I cannot use the internet now that I've installed Apache. (I'm using a friends' computer now). Even when I disabled Apache in the taskbar, it still wouldn't work. Whenever I got to ANY internet site, it takes a long time, and then tries to add all these things to it: for example, if I type in http://www.hotmail.com, it tries to go to:

http://www.www.hotmail.com.net

Then, every web page results in a "This page cannot be displayed" page, along with an error message saying that the website cannot be opened. I also cannot receive or send emails in Outlook Express; it , too, results in an error message.

I imagine that somehow Apache has conflicted with my internet/network settings, but I don't know how or which ones to find. I don't really understand this kind of stuff, so step-by-step instructions would be great. Of course, http://localhost still works.

Any suggestions? Much appreciated, thank you.
graciedee
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Australia

Postby Alexej Kubarev » Sun Jan 23, 2005 3:14 am

Its actually quite weird... because i have never hear that apache messes up with internet connections.. and adding www. and .net to address is more then waird... Apache doesnt add ANYTHING to any Internet connection... try removing it and see what happends...

But i belive that your computer had some other problems... might be some virus or trojan... but Apache? no way... the only things that apache really does is copies its files to a folder, installs a service, and adds shortcuts..

Nothing more...
User avatar
Alexej Kubarev
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2223
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 7:15 am
Location: Täby, Stockholms län

Postby ruturajv » Mon Jan 24, 2005 7:16 pm

It is definately not apache.... !!
seems that you've screwed up the hosts file.
Just check your hosts file
winXP - c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts
linux - /etc/hosts

just check that the common domains are not pointed to 127.*.*.*
User avatar
ruturajv
php-forum Super User
php-forum Super User
 
Posts: 1280
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2003 9:42 am
Location: Mumbai, India

Postby WiZARD » Tue Jan 25, 2005 6:40 am

seems that you've virus......
User avatar
WiZARD
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1257
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2002 10:14 pm
Location: Ukraine, Crimea, Simferopol

Postby ruturajv » Mon Jan 31, 2005 7:37 pm

just check this
Code: Select all
netstat -a

this will help you see all the incoming/listning and outgoing ports
User avatar
ruturajv
php-forum Super User
php-forum Super User
 
Posts: 1280
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2003 9:42 am
Location: Mumbai, India


Return to PHP Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Sponsored by Sitebuilder Web hosting and Traduzioni Italiano Rumeno and antispam for cPanel.