Board index   FAQ   Search  
Register  Login
Board index PHP PHP Installation

Upgraded PHP and now websites don't work

Forum for you who has PHP installation issues

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

Upgraded PHP and now websites don't work

Postby Ranger187 » Thu Jan 06, 2005 10:27 pm

Specs:
Windows 2003 Server
IIS 6
mySQL 5.0.0 Alpha
PHP 5.0.3 (upgraded from working 4.3.10)

Issue:
All pages are blank


Information:
I run a blog http://blog.harhigh.com and I recently upgraded from PHP 4.3.10 to 5.0.3. Now before I upgraded, all was working. NO issues. Then I did the upgrade and the blog stopped working.

I'm running Nuclues which uses PHP and mySQL.

When I goto the blog site, it shows up blank. Nothing is there. Yet if you goto the PHP info page: http://blog.harhigh.com/phpinfo.php it works and shows the info. That means to me that PHP is working obviously, but nothing that uses PHP and mySQL is working.

Now nothing is wrong with mySQL as if I uninstall 5.0.3 and reinstall 4.3.10 everything works as if there are no issues. I'm clueless.

Help.
Ranger187
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 10:21 pm

Postby Alexej Kubarev » Fri Jan 07, 2005 3:00 am

There are several things that have been changed in PHP and mysql... note: i do NOT recommend Mysql 5.0.x alpha

Use 4.1 insted... here are some things that you will need to think about after upgrading:

Sticky: MySQL Intallation FAQ

Sticky: MySQL 4.1

If you problems are still there after you've done everything that is there: come back and we'll take a better look :)
User avatar
Alexej Kubarev
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2223
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 7:15 am
Location: Täby, Stockholms län

Postby Ranger187 » Fri Jan 07, 2005 4:33 am

I uninstalled 5.0.0 Alpha and installed 4.1

I did all that was said and I still get blank pages....

I do not see why this shit won't work with PHP 5.0.3.....

But I know this is something that many people have had issues with.
Ranger187
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 10:21 pm

Postby Alexej Kubarev » Fri Jan 07, 2005 5:34 am

true... many people have..
This problem accures on windows operating systems...

So i guess you have loaded all the modules (for mysql and everything else) and stuff like that?

You did copy php5ts.dll to Windows folder, right?

Try if phpinfo() works..
User avatar
Alexej Kubarev
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2223
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 7:15 am
Location: Täby, Stockholms län

Postby Alexej Kubarev » Fri Jan 07, 2005 5:35 am

Sorry..saw that it worked...
User avatar
Alexej Kubarev
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2223
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 7:15 am
Location: Täby, Stockholms län

Postby Alexej Kubarev » Fri Jan 07, 2005 5:38 am

However im getting "No input file specified."
I still wonder what does that mean... never got that error before..

Check that all the files a copied to Windows... remeber the php5ts.dll

And use a zip package, not the installer
User avatar
Alexej Kubarev
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2223
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 7:15 am
Location: Täby, Stockholms län

Postby Ranger187 » Fri Jan 07, 2005 6:13 am

PHP works. But I found out why it won't work with the blog and forum.

Neither support MySQLi......

And 4.1 doesn't like anything..

So I'll go back to 5.0.0 Alpha or 4.0x until everything is sorted out. Fuking developers ;)

It still doesn't explain why it keeps saying it can't find the exif dll's etc in the \ext dir when I specify that in the php.ini.... Even in 4.0

So that leads me to believe that mysql 4.1 is the culprit.

I removed the phpinfo file... Leaving that up is not wise. ;) Hence the no input file.
Ranger187
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 10:21 pm

Postby Alexej Kubarev » Fri Jan 07, 2005 6:38 am

Wait... MySQLi is supported... it is in the zip package..

You should use mysqli with PHP5... it will be like that forever...
And even mysql works with PHP4... but the mysql5 is a bad release... you SHOULD use Mysql4.1 for a production enviroment... please read carefully throught the topicts a gave links to.

The thing is that you MIGHT need to add a new line in php ini:

extension=php_mysqli.dll
User avatar
Alexej Kubarev
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2223
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 7:15 am
Location: Täby, Stockholms län

Postby Ranger187 » Fri Jan 07, 2005 6:49 am

You're not listening either...

Vbulletin and Nuclues don't support mysqli....

And so I reverted all back to mySQL as 4.1 uses that password crap. I am not chaning 120+ pwds...

And now I'm getting this error:

PHP Warning: Unknown(): Unable to load dynamic library 'c:\php\ext\php_exif.dll' - The specified module could not be found. in Unknown on line 0 PHP Warning: Unknown(): Unable to load dynamic library 'c:\php\ext\php_gd2.dll' - The specified module could not be found. in Unknown on line 0 PHP Warning: Unknown(): Unable to load dynamic library 'c:\php\ext\php_mbstring.dll' - The specified module could not be found. in Unknown on line 0

I fuking hate PHP and FagSQL....

I set it to c:\php\ext yet the stupid pos can't even find it...
Ranger187
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 10:21 pm

Postby Alexej Kubarev » Fri Jan 07, 2005 6:57 am

okej... hehe.. take 4.0

It has old passwords...
BUT mysql 4.1 works fine with php5 WITHOUT changing passes :-)
But anyways.. Your choise :)
User avatar
Alexej Kubarev
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2223
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 7:15 am
Location: Täby, Stockholms län

Postby Alexej Kubarev » Fri Jan 07, 2005 6:59 am

hmmz... the problem is that you MIGHT need to copy all those etentions to windows folder as well :) OR check if you HAVE those files at all :)

They are only distributed in the zip package..
User avatar
Alexej Kubarev
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2223
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 7:15 am
Location: Täby, Stockholms län

Postby Ranger187 » Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:00 am

Really? Then explain why Vbulletin says it won't work. As all the others.

Explain why after all I did it didn't work even after reading all the info. Explain why 4 other people couldn't get it to work.

It doesn't work with Vbulletin.

And now it's saying it can't find the extensions dir even though I specified it. PHP and Mysql are nothing more then a nightmare.

And why do I have to copy the files to the windows directory? Unacceptable.

; Directory in which the loadable extensions (modules) reside.
extension_dir = "c:\php\ext" This is set right, yet stupid PHP can't see this...
Ranger187
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 10:21 pm

Postby Alexej Kubarev » Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:09 am

it cant see the dll files because you probably dont have them :)

And nor PHP neither MySQL are stupid... thats the software that works for almost everyone... or atleas real programmers... anyways..

Please calm down... If you cant make it work: use the configuration that works.. No need to run after updates.. :D
User avatar
Alexej Kubarev
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2223
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 7:15 am
Location: Täby, Stockholms län

Postby Ranger187 » Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:11 am

I am calm. And I have all the files in c:\php\ext.

It seems this program is too stupid to realize this.

; Directory in which the loadable extensions (modules) reside.
extension_dir = "c:\php\ext" <--- If it can't see they are in there then what else would cause this?
Ranger187
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 10:21 pm

Postby Alexej Kubarev » Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:18 am

dunno..everything works for me :)
User avatar
Alexej Kubarev
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2223
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 7:15 am
Location: Täby, Stockholms län

Postby Ranger187 » Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:19 am

And the problem is replicated on the dev box. Hence PHP = retarded.
Ranger187
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 10:21 pm

Postby Alexej Kubarev » Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:23 am

WEll... i dont see your machine, so i cant tell you what to do more...however for EVERY single one real PHP developer evething works... :)

I guess because we know how to configure it and done that 100 times with different versions...

But still i've had the problem like yours one... but i fixed by simply loading needed modules..
User avatar
Alexej Kubarev
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2223
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 7:15 am
Location: Täby, Stockholms län

Postby Ranger187 » Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:36 am

Well, let's see... I'm not stupid...

c:\php\ext\php_exif.dll

Yet this *censored* pos is saying no no no it's not....

PHP Warning: Unknown(): Unable to load dynamic library 'c:\php\ext\php_exif.dll' - The specified module could not be found. in Unknown on line 0

I moved the dll to c:\windows and c:\windows\system32.....

Nothing works... Still gives that annoying popup error message.
Ranger187
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 10:21 pm

Postby Alexej Kubarev » Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:52 am

hmmz
works here..
and please watch your language :)
User avatar
Alexej Kubarev
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2223
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 7:15 am
Location: Täby, Stockholms län

Postby Alexej Kubarev » Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:54 am

like i said... you can use the old configuration that worked.. :)
User avatar
Alexej Kubarev
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2223
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 7:15 am
Location: Täby, Stockholms län

Postby Ranger187 » Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:57 am

Nope, I couldn't...

After going through all the settings etc, I decided to copy the \ext folder and overwrite... That worked...

Explain that.
Ranger187
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 10:21 pm

Postby Alexej Kubarev » Fri Jan 07, 2005 8:19 am

Easy.. wrong version of files :)
User avatar
Alexej Kubarev
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2223
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 7:15 am
Location: Täby, Stockholms län

Postby Ranger187 » Fri Jan 07, 2005 8:38 am

Ok, so that solved why it was doing that. But it didn't solve the other issues. Blah. Yet another reason why I would never become a programmer. No patience.

Now we know that Vbulletin doesn't support mysqli, but it does mysql...

So if I upgraded back to php 5.0.3 how would I force it to work with mysql? And if I got it to, when they do finally rewrite it, will that have a large effect on what I have to change?
Ranger187
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 10:21 pm

Postby Alexej Kubarev » Fri Jan 07, 2005 8:40 am

WAit wait wait... You just load a module called php_mysql.dll and you have everything needed for PHP5 to work with MySQL..
User avatar
Alexej Kubarev
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2223
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 7:15 am
Location: Täby, Stockholms län

Postby Alexej Kubarev » Fri Jan 07, 2005 8:42 am

This is more like a PHP installation issue... so i think i will move this topic to PHP Installation instead..
User avatar
Alexej Kubarev
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2223
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 7:15 am
Location: Täby, Stockholms län

Next

Return to PHP Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Sponsored by Sitebuilder Web hosting and Traduzioni Italiano Rumeno and antispam for cPanel.