Apache 2 with PHP5 MySQL 4 and PHPBB2 installation help

Forum for you who has PHP installation issues

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

Planet_Jeroen
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 1:49 pm

Apache 2 with PHP5 MySQL 4 and PHPBB2 installation help

Postby Planet_Jeroen » Tue Aug 17, 2004 2:16 pm

Hello all,

I've been searching through a bunch of google searches and this forum for about 4 hours now, and I'm at a loss.

I installed the following on my WinXP box:

Apache_2.0.50-win32-x86-no_ss
mysql-4.0.20d-win
php-5.0.1-Win32.zip
phpBB-2.0.10

I played around with different settings and got PHP to work

Installed MySQL and made a database with no tables in it.

For some reason tho, it doesnt seem to be able to work with my database I created in MySQL. Getting PHP to work was done by adding the lines in my apache config file to load PHP as a module. This made me able to open the install page of PHPBB2. Then I tried filling out the form and hit install... this resulted the first few times in PHPBB2 telling me that my version of PHP could not work with my MySQL database. After some changes I cant remember after these 4 hours it just reopend the install page.

So I deinstalled everything, got rid of the mess it left and started over again.

Apache install, PHP as module added (no php.ini changes - using recommended ini file) MySQL, created empty DB, dumped PHPBB2 files in HTDOCS folder of Apache and fired up Apache. No errors. Opend http://127.0.0.1 in my browser, got the folder content of my Apache htdocs folder and clicked the index.html file provided by PHPBB2.
This opened the install page. Filled out the form, hit install again and then I get the install page, blank, again.

What am I missing out on ? I've searched through all the relevant installation help files from the different installed products but can't seem to find the problem.

Anybody here cares to elaborate a bit on what my problem could be ? Xcept for being a PHP newbie ?

User avatar
ruturajv
php-forum Super User
php-forum Super User
Posts: 1280
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2003 9:42 am
Location: Mumbai, India
Contact:

Postby ruturajv » Wed Aug 18, 2004 7:53 pm

I suppose that your apache and php installation is fine..
i doubt what you have done with MySQL.. I assume that you have installed it well..
by default there is no password for root.
so
username : "root"
password : ""

put this information in the phpBB config...
and I hope that should do...

Planet_Jeroen
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 1:49 pm

Postby Planet_Jeroen » Fri Aug 20, 2004 8:47 am

ruturajv wrote:I suppose that your apache and php installation is fine..
i doubt what you have done with MySQL.. I assume that you have installed it well..
by default there is no password for root.
so
username : "root"
password : ""

put this information in the phpBB config...
and I hope that should do...


I wish it was that simple... I am more at home with mysql then I am with php. I know the database is fine, and works, cuz I can edit it, add tables, etc. using EMS MySQL manager pro.

I doubt my PHP installation more then the rest. Webserver install is a piece of cake. Editing the config file for the webserver wasnt hard either.

Tho I am a little confused why I get different results in opening the PHPBB2 index page when I change the PHP.ini file. Again, I used the recommended php.ini file. I changed some file locations in the .ini file and that seemed to give me different results, but none that worked.

In the first situation it will reopen a blank setup form when I submit the info.

In the second situation, it will fill out some of the details by itself (using correct settings, that apply to my setup: like the PHPBB2 location and the script path and such) but tell me my database is an unsupported format.

I changed the password for root in MySQL, and it does accept the password when using MySQL manager. So I figured it couldnt be that.

I'll get some screenshots posted.

Planet_Jeroen
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 1:49 pm

Postby Planet_Jeroen » Fri Aug 20, 2004 10:13 am

MySQL DB viewed through EMS MySQL Manager
http://members.home.nl/planet-jeroen/MySQLdb.JPG

PHPBB2 install page, filled out.
http://members.home.nl/planet-jeroen/MySQLdb.JPG

PHPBB2 install page, after clicking install now
http://members.home.nl/planet-jeroen/PHPBB2-2.JPG


Only change I made to httpd.conf file in my Apache conf folder. I added this stuff:

Code: Select all

LoadModule php5_module "D:/Web/Apache/Apache2/php/php5apache2.dll"
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .html

# configure the path to php.ini
PHPIniDir "D:/Web/Apache/Apache2/php"


Complete httpd.conf
http://members.home.nl/planet-jeroen/httpd.conf

Complete php.ini
http://members.home.nl/planet-jeroen/php.ini.txt



I hope this will help you help me ;)

User avatar
bezmond
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 4:33 am
Location: Mansfield, UK
Contact:

Postby bezmond » Fri Aug 20, 2004 11:17 am

I tried PHP5 with Apache as you did, I had many problems getting PHP5, Apache2 and MySQL to work together.

I have PHP4 installed again now,

And used the following in httpd.conf (apache) for PHP:

ScriptAlias /PHP/ "c:/PHP/"
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .cspx .html .htm
Action application/x-httpd-php "/PHP/php.exe"


Hope this helps.

Andrew

Planet_Jeroen
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 1:49 pm

Postby Planet_Jeroen » Fri Aug 20, 2004 1:32 pm

bezmond wrote:I tried PHP5 with Apache as you did, I had many problems getting PHP5, Apache2 and MySQL to work together.

I have PHP4 installed again now,

And used the following in httpd.conf (apache) for PHP:

ScriptAlias /PHP/ "c:/PHP/"
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .cspx .html .htm
Action application/x-httpd-php "/PHP/php.exe"


Hope this helps.

Andrew


You're a life saver ;) Problem resolved


Return to “PHP Installation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest