Board index   FAQ   Search  
Register  Login
Board index PHP PHP Installation

Installation of PHP 4.3.6 on Apache 2.0.49

Forum for you who has PHP installation issues

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

Installation of PHP 4.3.6 on Apache 2.0.49

Postby Take 1 » Fri May 07, 2004 7:32 am

I know that most of you are sick to see that topic over and over again, but I count on your help. Really. I've also have to say that I've spent lots of hours reading the official documentation and following the instructions. I've also read many posts trying to find the answer I am looking for but - nothing!

So, I need to install PHP 4.3.6 on WinXP Pro With Apache 2.0.49. I want to make tests of PHP scripts on the same local machine; working directory: c:\somenet.

My question is: What I do wrong and/or what I miss to do?

1. I downloaded 'apache_2.0.49-win32-x86-no_ssl.msi' file (5 955KB) from the http://www.apache.org/

2.Installed it with default settings: http://www.somenet.com, etc. in the default directory: c:\Program Files\Apache Group\Apache2

3.Changed 2 lines in httpd.conf:
DocumentRoot "c:/somenet"
<Directory "c:/somenet">

4.Created file index.html in c:\somenet with simple 'Hello World' message

----------------------

So far, so good! Apache works OK! When I simply try to connect in IE to the local host '127.0.0.1' and I see the page I made (c:\somenet\index.html). It even works on the local net! That's good... But Let's go to the PHP.

5.I've downloaded 'php-4.3.6-Win32.zip' file (7 202KB) from http://www.php.net/.

6.Unzipped the content in 'c:\' and renamed 'c:\php-4.3.6-Win32' directory to 'c:\php' (as recommended in the manuals).

7.I've made a copy of 'php.ini-recommended' form 'c:\php' to 'c:\windows' and ranamed it to 'php.ini'

8.Set the following lines:

doc_root = c:\somenet
user_dir = c:\somenet
extension_dir = "c:\php\extensions"

9.Coppied 'php4ts.dll' to 'c:\php\sapi'.

10. Added these two lines in DSO section of 'httpd.conf'

LoadModule php4_module c:/php/sapi/php4apache2.dll
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php


11.Added simple PHP code in 'index.html' to make test.

----------------------
So, it should be working? Or I am missing something?! It didn't work so I also did this:

12.Coppied all of the conent in 'c:\php\sapi' folder to the following directories:

c:\windows\system32
c:\windows
c:\windows\system
c:\Program Files\Apache Group\Apache2

I did it step by step, which means i first coppied to 'c:\windows\system32' and tried if it's going to work... Nope. It didn't ...

13. I've also reanamed 'c:/php/sapi/php4apache2.dll' to see if Apache tries to access to that file. Yes, it does.

14. Then I uncomment almost all of the extensions in 'php.ini' file (the one in 'c:\windows') like:

extension=php_bz2.dll
extension=php_cpdf.dll

etc.

by removing ';' . The apache does acces to most of them except ones like:

extension=php_mcrypt.dll
extension=php_oracle.dll

etc.


But... Still nothing!!!
Well, usually I don't like to ask for help, but this time I really need your help guys. As I've said: I count on you!

Thank you all very much in advance!

P.S.I know I've explained it too much detailed but I wanted to be sure that you'll imagine exactly how I do it.

P.P.S The funny thing is that about two months ago when I've tried to install php on apache for the first time I did it with almost no difficulties. But now it just doesn't want to work :(.
Take 1
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 6:19 am

one more...

Postby ruturajv » Sun May 09, 2004 7:59 pm

Try copying the php4ts.dll to the windows\system and windows\system32 folder
User avatar
ruturajv
php-forum Super User
php-forum Super User
 
Posts: 1280
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2003 9:42 am
Location: Mumbai, India

Answer

Postby Take 1 » Mon May 10, 2004 7:17 am

Thanks ruturajv :).

Actually I did it: Step 9 + Step 12.

According to the instructions, it MUST work!! As I said, I've done it before and it worked. I just Don't understand why it doesn't work now :((. All I do I do it on a clear installation of XP.
Take 1
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 6:19 am

server...

Postby ruturajv » Mon May 10, 2004 7:38 pm

And I fairly assume that when your apache starts it does not show something like
Code: Select all
Apache/1.3.27 PHP/4.3.6

on the console window...!
User avatar
ruturajv
php-forum Super User
php-forum Super User
 
Posts: 1280
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2003 9:42 am
Location: Mumbai, India

Console Windows

Postby Take 1 » Wed May 12, 2004 3:33 am

Even if it shows, Console window closes too fast to see what's written there.

But! :)

But I had my head about to explode. So I decide to rest couple of days and then to try it again. And you know what?

I DID IT!! :-? :-D :-?

Actually had installed PHP and I didn't know it!! The whole problem was in the way of testing. I've always tried:

http://127.0.0.1/index.html

which includes simple php code.

THE KEY of the mistery is the file extension. I should add ".html" at the second line of Step 10 and it must looks like:

AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .html


That's all! :) Simply. Isn't it?
Take 1
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 6:19 am

apache..

Postby ruturajv » Mon May 17, 2004 7:26 pm

well here a list for a good web dev. box ...

1. install apache http server 1.3.29 http://httpd.apache.org
2. install mysql [mysql server 4.0.x] http://mysql.com
3. install php [4.3.6] http://php.net/downloads.php

please follow the instructions in "install" file of php and that would be sufficient for installation of this.
User avatar
ruturajv
php-forum Super User
php-forum Super User
 
Posts: 1280
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2003 9:42 am
Location: Mumbai, India

Re: apache.org/

Postby WiZARD » Tue May 18, 2004 10:45 am

Bilal Ahmad wrote:well i am new here , and keen to know about PHP , as i read that i have to apache first , and i went to http://www.apache.org/ but i dont know watt i do next ????
i have WIn XP here , so please help me out ?

Ouch...
More People forgot about IIS.... Do not forget remove IIS from Your OS... Why? SMTP sucks, FTP may halt youre system, HTTP sucks too, some time then you setting Apache at the 8080 port you still have very big problem with HTTP, cause IIS..... Remove it 8O
User avatar
WiZARD
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1257
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2002 10:14 pm
Location: Ukraine, Crimea, Simferopol

Answer

Postby Take 1 » Thu May 20, 2004 7:44 am

Bilal: Read carefully my first post of this topic. Actually it's kind of instruction for installation which will help you! :)
Take 1
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 6:19 am

Re: Answer

Postby WiZARD » Sat May 22, 2004 7:01 am

all DLLs you may copy in c:\windows directory....
User avatar
WiZARD
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1257
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2002 10:14 pm
Location: Ukraine, Crimea, Simferopol

Postby cinoz » Tue May 25, 2004 8:41 pm

how to remove iis from the system?
cinoz
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun May 23, 2004 10:00 am
Location: Kay Ell


Return to PHP Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest

Sponsored by Sitebuilder Web hosting and Traduzioni Italiano Rumeno and antispam for cPanel.