PHP MYSQL APACHE

Forum for you who has PHP installation issues

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

bllott
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 9:14 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact:

PHP MYSQL APACHE

Postby bllott » Sun Jan 25, 2004 9:23 pm

Hello,

I am new to both this forum and PHP.
I decided to install PHP and I followed the instructions on this tutorial:

http://www.webmastersjunction.com/ams/a ... rticleId=8

I noticed that this tutorial focuses on old versions of php mysql and apache. I tried following the same steps to install the new versions, but it did not work.

I have also looked at many books but they all seem to go right into programming assuming Everything is running fine

I am working with Windows 2000 Pro.

Please send me a link or information on a new up to date tutorial on installing the latest versions.

Any assistance is greatly appreciated.

Thank you :D

User avatar
swirlee
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2272
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2003 1:18 pm
Location: A bunk in the back
Contact:

Postby swirlee » Sun Jan 25, 2004 9:39 pm

All three of these products come with ample installation documentation, and additional documentation can be found on their respective web sites. Read it.

The only thing I have to add that won't be covered by the documentation is the order you should install them in. I usually do it in the following order:
  1. Apache
  2. MySQL
  3. PHP

bllott
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 9:14 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact:

reply

Postby bllott » Sun Jan 25, 2004 10:41 pm

Thanks, I appreciate your advice.

bllott
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 9:14 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Installation

Postby bllott » Fri Jan 30, 2004 10:24 pm

I read info like you said, now I am using the tutorial at

http://internetmaster.com/installtutorial/

I have a problem installing apache 2.0.47

When I get to the part:

http://internetmaster.com/installtutori ... apache.htm

The DOS window pops up as mentioned but instead of starting up as described the following message appears:

<OS_2> no listening socket found

after this there is a countdown from 30 to 0 and the DOS window closes

after that another DOS window appears saying no apache services were installed and it counts down again and shuts off after 20 seconds.

after this apache shuts itself down I cannot install it.

Help would be appreciated :)

Thank you

bllott
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 9:14 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Postby bllott » Sat Jan 31, 2004 11:11 pm

I found out what the problem was. I was running the latest version of IIS, and this was not allowing apache 2.0.47 to be installed properly.

I removed IIS and reinstalled everything with no errors

Thanks

User avatar
ruturajv
php-forum Super User
php-forum Super User
Posts: 1280
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2003 9:42 am
Location: Mumbai, India
Contact:

apache 2

Postby ruturajv » Mon Feb 02, 2004 5:09 am

I still consider Apache 1.3.x to be used as php with apache 2 is much on an experimental basis, further its not for production servers...

User avatar
WiZARD
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1257
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2002 10:14 pm
Location: Ukraine, Crimea, Simferopol
Contact:

Postby WiZARD » Mon Feb 02, 2004 9:18 am

i think what installation instruction in manual for Apache and PHP is enought.

bllott
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 9:14 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Postby bllott » Mon Feb 02, 2004 9:12 pm

i think what installation instruction in manual for Apache and PHP is enought.


I agree that it's enough, but doesn't the installation process vary for different versions or apache php and mysql?

User avatar
swirlee
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2272
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2003 1:18 pm
Location: A bunk in the back
Contact:

Postby swirlee » Tue Feb 03, 2004 12:34 am

bllott wrote:I agree that it's enough, but doesn't the installation process vary for different versions or apache php and mysql?


Only very slightly, but every distribution comes with isntructions specific to that version.

User avatar
WiZARD
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1257
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2002 10:14 pm
Location: Ukraine, Crimea, Simferopol
Contact:

Postby WiZARD » Tue Feb 03, 2004 9:36 am

only if some new in product.
i think what we have new variant of installation for PHP5 but main installation pronciple Zend keeping.

bllott
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 9:14 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Postby bllott » Tue Feb 03, 2004 4:07 pm

I have php 4.3.3 mysql 4.0.16 apache 2.0.47

are those good for beginners?

any suggestions on what other software I should use to set up the development environment?

thanks

User avatar
ruturajv
php-forum Super User
php-forum Super User
Posts: 1280
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2003 9:42 am
Location: Mumbai, India
Contact:

good enough

Postby ruturajv » Thu Feb 05, 2004 3:36 am

yes that is a good env.!
What sort of dev you are looking for?
the above one is great for web dev. with php

bllott
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 9:14 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Postby bllott » Thu Feb 05, 2004 3:58 pm

I am looking to learn to control php and mysql with text commands. I don't want something visual

any suggestions?

sigix
php-forum Active User
php-forum Active User
Posts: 364
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 9:39 pm
Location: /Earth/Xion

Postby sigix » Fri Feb 06, 2004 6:25 am

what you mean by not visual?
you can do all mysql stuff through command line.
but that is really a tough thing to do, that's why they have made visual applications to control all that to make work faster and easier,also it will be fun for you too in command line interface.

User avatar
swirlee
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2272
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2003 1:18 pm
Location: A bunk in the back
Contact:

Postby swirlee » Fri Feb 06, 2004 3:49 pm

sigix wrote:you can do all mysql stuff through command line.
but that is really a tough thing to do


Bah! If you don't know how to write a proper CREATE TABLE command without the aid of a GUI, then I can guarantee that your tables are largely inefficient. Manipulating your database from the command line isn't any more difficult -- it just means that you actually have to know what you're doing. [Edit: I mean no offense, sigix, just humbly disagreeing.]

bllott, MySQL comes with a command-line client. It's called mysql (or mysql.exe in windows). Refer to your documentation.

As far as controlling PHP from the command line, well, I don't know what that would accomplish. I mean, PHP works in only one way: you feed it a script and it spits out the result. A text editor, a web server, and a web browser are the only tools you need.
Last edited by swirlee on Fri Feb 06, 2004 11:47 pm, edited 2 times in total.

bllott
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 9:14 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Postby bllott » Fri Feb 06, 2004 4:51 pm

Bah! If you don't know how to write a proper CREATE TABLE command without the aid of a GUI, then I can guarantee that your tables are largely inefficient. Manipulating your database from the command line isn't any more difficult -- it just means that you actually have to know what you're doing.


I agree with you.

I use the mysql.exe to train with MySQL

Highlander65
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2003 11:35 am

Postby Highlander65 » Tue Feb 10, 2004 9:29 am

Hotscripts.com has some nice automated setup routines that are good if you are setting up a new machine with all the latest versions of Apache, MySQL, PHP, and Perl. Run one file and everything gets set up in the basic settings. You STILL have to go in and configure things the way you will need them, but the basic installation is very quick.

User avatar
WiZARD
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1257
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2002 10:14 pm
Location: Ukraine, Crimea, Simferopol
Contact:

Postby WiZARD » Wed Feb 11, 2004 12:15 pm

bllott wrote:
Bah! If you don't know how to write a proper CREATE TABLE command without the aid of a GUI, then I can guarantee that your tables are largely inefficient. Manipulating your database from the command line isn't any more difficult -- it just means that you actually have to know what you're doing.


I agree with you.

I use the mysql.exe to train with MySQL


hm....
good idea! create some like manager for php and MySQL in php :o) it's like PHPMyAdminTool but and php manager.....

bllott
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 9:14 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Postby bllott » Fri Feb 13, 2004 1:41 pm

hm....
good idea! create some like manager for php and MySQL in php ) it's like PHPMyAdminTool but and php manager.....


I think so too.

User avatar
WiZARD
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1257
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2002 10:14 pm
Location: Ukraine, Crimea, Simferopol
Contact:

Postby WiZARD » Sat Feb 21, 2004 9:40 am

bllott wrote:
hm....
good idea! create some like manager for php and MySQL in php ) it's like PHPMyAdminTool but and php manager.....


I think so too.


all in youre hand! :o)
P.S.
interesting think i can see at this article: http://www.devshed.com/c/a/PHP/Configur ... HP-Config/


Return to “PHP Installation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron