PHP + Apache configuring ?

Forum for you who has PHP installation issues

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

garans
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2002 8:43 pm

PHP + Apache configuring ?

Postby garans » Sun Oct 06, 2002 8:53 pm

I am a beginner in PHP.

I bought a book by J. Melony (translation from 2000 year issue) and trying to install.

MySQL - OK. Apache - OK.

PHP + Apache configuring ?
When I start phpinfo.php I get the content of my .php

I tryed 3 times to configure Apache but it was useless.
Please help.

User avatar
WiZARD
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1257
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2002 10:14 pm
Location: Ukraine, Crimea, Simferopol
Contact:

Re: PHP + Apache configuring ?

Postby WiZARD » Mon Oct 07, 2002 1:47 am

garans wrote:I am a beginner in PHP.

I bought a book by J. Melony (translation from 2000 year issue) and trying to install.

MySQL - OK. Apache - OK.

PHP + Apache configuring ?
When I start phpinfo.php I get the content of my .php

I tryed 3 times to configure Apache but it was useless.
Please help.

I'm tired tell peaple: RTFM
Interesting why peaples do not want read manual?

garans
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2002 8:43 pm

I dont understand

Postby garans » Mon Oct 07, 2002 11:38 am

the answer of wizard.

I have the manual but didnt find the same situation.

I use win98 and CD from book "PHP fast&easy web developement
(2000)." by J.Meloni.

I think there are people who tried it.

I don't understand what RTFM is.

DoppyNL

Postby DoppyNL » Mon Oct 07, 2002 12:07 pm

RTFM is commonly used on forums like this (to help people with something) and means Read The F***ing Manual.
Although and the freesco forum it means Read The Freesco Manual, but that doesn't work with PHP, darn 8)

What he meant was that many people have the same problem configuring apache and php and there is lots of documentation on what can go wrong and how to solve that.
Take a look at http://www.php.net and search a little around and my best guess is you will solve you're problem

Greetz Daan

Jay

Postby Jay » Mon Oct 07, 2002 1:40 pm

I would think that your problem lies somewhere in that you haven't instructed Apache to treat .php files as a PHP file (ie execute it using the PHP executable).

The PHP installation guide should have pointed this out!!

garans
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2002 8:43 pm

last question?

Postby garans » Tue Oct 08, 2002 9:01 pm

In accordance with book, I put three parts in
\program files\Apache Group\Apache\conf\httpd

1.
#
ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ "D:/Program Files/Apache Group/Apache/cgi-bin/"
ScriptAlias /php/ "C:/PHP/"

2.
#AddType application/x-httpd-php3 .phtml
#AddType application/x-httpd-php3-source .phps
AddType application/x-httpd-php .phtml .php
AddType application/x-httpd-php-source .phps
AddType application/x-tar .tgz

3.
# Format: Action handler-name /cgi-script/location
Action application/x-httpd-php /php/php.exe

but it doesn't work.

I commented (switched off) all these new lines - without any effect.

PHP works:
PHP -i
gives screen full of HTML code.

I dont want it, but I think I need to install second operating system and
start "from the blank page".

MrWizard
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2003 3:40 am

Postby MrWizard » Mon Jan 20, 2003 3:57 am

This is basically what is in install.txt in the PHP distribution, but perhaps you'll find it easier to understand. It worked for me.

http://mitglied.lycos.de/norimakihentai/php4apache2/


Return to “PHP Installation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron