Is it possible two have 2 database management system.

Do you have questions regarding other database enginges (not MySQL) -- ask here!

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

Komlan
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 7:12 am

Is it possible two have 2 database management system.

Postby Komlan » Sat May 19, 2012 10:45 am

I currently have MsSql on my laptop, but i would like to install MySql because it is more commonly used, so i was wondering if it was possible to have 2 database management system?

element121
php-forum Active User
php-forum Active User
Posts: 493
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2015 11:46 am
Contact:

Re: Is it possible two have 2 database management system.

Postby element121 » Thu Sep 24, 2015 5:34 am

Hi Komlan,
Yes it's possible to run both on the same machine if you need to!
Regards,
Jon

chorn
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2016 2:18 am

Re: Is it possible two have 2 database management system.

Postby chorn » Fri Apr 01, 2016 2:46 am

as many as you want. dbms are normal programs, so they're reached via ports. mysql, mssql, postgres listen on different ports. and if they don't, you can make them listen to any port you want by config. so you can even have multiple instances of the same dbms (maybe for different versions) on a single machine.


Return to “Other Database Engines”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests