Board index   FAQ   Search  
Register  Login
Board index php forum :: php coding PHP coding => General

can one step through script

Ask about general coding issues or problems here.

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

can one step through script

Postby ceetee » Thu Jan 02, 2003 2:43 pm

I've just started learning php coming from javascript. It's irksome that there isn't an alert() to step through a script, to aid in debugging.

Is there some other way of doing this in php like a pause instruction?
ceetee
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2003 2:28 pm

Try a editor

Postby them » Fri Jan 03, 2003 4:51 am

Hy,

For as far as I know is there no possibilitty to stop a script for debugging. But what I alway do in if I want to some values op variables I just echo them on the screen. I know my page in not good anymore but I can see wat is wrong.

You can als try a PHP editor. A really good one for mee is PHP editor op dzsoft and PHP expert editor. The only problem is that they ar not free but you can try them first for 30 days. (And they are exactly the same so you have 60 days to try :wink: .

You can download them from http://www.download.com and search for php editor.

Good Luck!
them
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2002 5:29 am

Postby Oleg Butuzov » Fri Jan 03, 2003 6:02 am

PHP Expert Editor is the best software that I used for scripting...

I have own licence, and I recoment you do this to.
This software real good.
Oleg Butuzov
Last Samuray
Last Samuray
 
Posts: 831
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2002 3:09 am

Postby ceetee » Fri Jan 03, 2003 1:26 pm

I discovered the answer - echo the javascript alert().

echo "<script language = \"JavaScript\">alert (\" Variable1 = " . $Variable1 . " \"); </script>";
ceetee
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2003 2:28 pm

Postby Joan Garnet » Fri Jan 03, 2003 6:52 pm

With php you've got many ways to debug your code as soon as you can use other languages, as you see :D
Anyway, try to echo anything you want.

For me the best php editor is EDITPLUS
http://www.editplus.com/
;)
User avatar
Joan Garnet
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 387
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2002 2:56 am
Location: Mars

Postby ceetee » Sat Jan 04, 2003 12:48 am

I tried the lite version of Editplus, a while ago, but didn't like it. It was another one of those editors like Homesite offering help in areas such as simple table creation, where any half experienced coder can just as easily do it by hand.

Textpad was the first editor that came close to doing everthing right. Including an easy to use clip library. It's my first choice for web development. I say close, because it crashes readily with Apache/MySQL running on the PC. At least as supplied by http://www.firepages.com.au.

I tried quite a few editors, Hydra php, HAPedit, Crimson (not bad) so I'll try yet another one suggested above. *Searchs for the Holy Grail*.
ceetee
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2003 2:28 pm

Postby Joan Garnet » Sat Jan 04, 2003 5:15 am

Well, the reason why I like EditPlus is just because it has support for many diifferent languages.
I don't really use those features you talked about... but they could be useful anyway ( it's not a Dreamweaver :D )

Another important fact for me is that It opens faster than many others.
It's not a bad editor at all
User avatar
Joan Garnet
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 387
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2002 2:56 am
Location: Mars

Postby ceetee » Sat Jan 04, 2003 12:00 pm

I checked the Editplus again and realised I'd confused it with Notetab, which really is bad. You're right it's very impressive and it didn't crash with the Webserver switched on. Might even buy it! :lol:
ceetee
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2003 2:28 pm


Return to PHP coding => General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests

Sponsored by Sitebuilder Web hosting and Traduzioni Italiano Rumeno and antispam for cPanel.