Page 1 of 1

/n and new lines problem...

Posted: Thu Nov 21, 2002 2:18 am
by arbocenc
Hello,

I'm learning PHP (I'm a very newbie :-) and I'm testing PHP code from my tutorial. Next code should write the text strings in several lines, but it only writes one line... Why??

Code: Select all

<p>
<?php
echo "First line \n Second \n Third \n";
echo "another \n and other";
$texte2 ="1st line \n 2nd line";
echo "$texte2"
?>


or for example:

Code: Select all

<?php
/* Asignando una cadena. */
$str = "Esto es una cadena";
/* Añadiendo a la cadena. */
$str = $str . " con algo más de texto";
/* Otra forma de añadir, incluye un carácter de nueva línea protegido. */
$str .= " Y un carácter de nueva línea al final.\n";
echo "$str";
echo "berberecho";


Thanks,

Joan

Posted: Thu Nov 21, 2002 2:40 am
by Oleg Butuzov

Code: Select all

<?
/* Asignando una cadena. */
$str = "Esto es una cadena";
/* Añadiendo a la cadena. */
$str = $str . " con algo más de texto";
/* Otra forma de añadir, incluye un carácter de nueva línea protegido. */
$str .= " Y un carácter de nueva línea al final.\n";
echo "$str";
echo "berberecho";
?>


i saw here just 1 "\n" =)

Code: Select all

$str = $str . " con algo más de texto"; 


this action not for adding new lines =)

Posted: Thu Nov 21, 2002 2:48 am
by arbocenc
Pejone wrote:

Code: Select all

<?
/* Asignando una cadena. */
$str = "Esto es una cadena";
/* Añadiendo a la cadena. */
$str = $str . " con algo más de texto";
/* Otra forma de añadir, incluye un carácter de nueva línea protegido. */
$str .= " Y un carácter de nueva línea al final.\n";
echo "$str";
echo "berberecho";
?>


i saw here just 1 "\n" =)


and???



Code: Select all

$str = $str . " con algo más de texto"; 


this action not for adding new lines =)


Yes, but and the other /n (there are a lot)?

By way, I've discobered that if I put a <br> then break line happens...

[code]
<p>
<?php
echo "First line <br> Second <br> Third \n"; //pay attention to the <br> tags, in my first missage there are /n...
echo "another \n and other";
$texte2 ="1st line \n 2nd line";
echo "$texte2"
?>
[code]

But why /n doesn't run??

Regards,

Joan[/code]

Posted: Thu Nov 21, 2002 2:54 am
by Oleg Butuzov
<br> for html-coding - new line only in brouser
\n - new lines in generated file

Code: Select all

<?
echo "<pre>";
echo "First \n Second \n Third \n";
?>