Board index   FAQ   Search  
Register  Login
Board index php forum :: php coding PHP coding => General

Not really a problem

Ask about general coding issues or problems here.

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

Not really a problem

Postby elitecodex » Fri Jul 12, 2002 5:23 am

This is not really a problem, but more so of just want to know. Would also make long echo statments a little neater. I know that in C/C++, you can use one output statement to print out many lines of code; for instance:
Code: Select all
cout << "This is a line; this is still the same line"
            "but we can go to this line and write something"
            "as so with this line, and so on...";


I was wondering if something like that was available with PHP ( using echo, printf, whatever ). Thanks

Will
elitecodex
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2002 8:45 am
Location: East Coast, USA

Postby Oleg Butuzov » Fri Jul 12, 2002 1:20 pm

elitecodex, how said my friend WIZARD RTFM

copied from the php.net


echo
(unknown)

echo -- Output one or more strings
Description
echo ( string arg1 [, string argn...])


Outputs all parameters.

echo() is not actually a function (it is a language construct) so you are not required to use parentheses with it. In fact, if you want to pass more than one parameter to echo, you must not enclose the parameters within parentheses. It is not possible to use echo() in a variable function context, but you can use print() instead. Example 1. echo() examples

<?php
echo "Hello World";

echo "This spans
multiple lines. The newlines will be
output as well";

echo "This spans\nmultiple lines. The newlines will be\noutput as well.";

echo "Escaping characters is done \"Like this\".";

//You can use variables inside of an echo statement
$foo = "foobar";
$bar = "barbaz";

echo "foo is $foo"; // foo is foobar

// Using single quotes will print the variable name, not the value
echo 'foo is $foo'; // foo is $foo

// If you are not using any other characters, you can just echo variables
echo $foo; // foobar
echo $foo,$bar; // foobarbarbaz

echo <<<END
This uses the "here document" syntax to output
multiple lines with $variable interpolation. Note
that the here document terminator must appear on a
line with just a semicolon no extra whitespace!
END;

// Because echo is not a function, following code is invalid.
($some_var) ? echo('true'): echo('false');

// However, the following examples will work:
($some_var) ? print('true'): print('false'); // print is a function
echo $some_var ? 'true': 'false'; // changing the statement around
?>




echo() also has a shortcut syntax, where you can immediately follow the opening tag with an equals sign.


I have <?=$foo?> foo.




Note: This short syntax only works with the short_open_tag configuration setting enabled.


[/quote]
Oleg Butuzov
Last Samuray
Last Samuray
 
Posts: 831
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2002 3:09 am

Postby elitecodex » Mon Jul 15, 2002 3:10 am

Ah... Thank you Pejone, I guess it was one of those functions I never thought to look up. :)

Will
elitecodex
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2002 8:45 am
Location: East Coast, USA


Return to PHP coding => General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

Sponsored by Sitebuilder Web hosting and Traduzioni Italiano Rumeno and antispam for cPanel.