Help! How do I get the current domain?

Ask about general coding issues or problems here.

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

Post Reply
mpgalvin
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 2:53 am

Help! How do I get the current domain?

Post by mpgalvin » Wed Sep 17, 2003 9:27 am

I'm trying to create a sort of community thingy with php. Basically, each user will have their own area on my domain. Now the prob is that they will all share the same mysql db and I use a company_id to determine who is who.

I could quite easily work this with http://www.domain.com/index.php?companyid=1, but I want it to be completely transparent, so the URL will be something along the lines of http://www.domain.com/company1/index.php.

So I'd like to extract the URL to a string and parse it, getting 'company1' (or whatever) out, then look that up in a table to get the company id. Probably not the most efficient way of doing things, but if anyone can help me out here, I'd be very pleased

User avatar
swirlee
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2272
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2003 1:18 pm
Location: A bunk in the back
Contact:

Post by swirlee » Wed Sep 17, 2003 1:52 pm

Assuming you're using Apache (you really should), try this guide to using mod_rewrite: mod_rewrite: A Beginner's Guide to URL Rewriting.

User avatar
ruturajv
php-forum Super User
php-forum Super User
Posts: 1280
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2003 9:42 am
Location: Mumbai, India
Contact:

sessions

Post by ruturajv » Wed Sep 17, 2003 9:00 pm

use sessions!!!!

mpgalvin
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 2:53 am

Re: sessions

Post by mpgalvin » Thu Sep 18, 2003 3:34 am

ruturajv wrote:use sessions!!!!

Great! how? :D
Actually, I don't see how sessions would work.

The mod_rewrite seems like a good solution, but I can't do it just yet: I'm using Apache, but on a Win machine for development. It means that I have to leave this rather important detail until I've got my domain sorted out.

Isn't there no easier way? Is the posix_uname function any use? Does anyone know how to use it?

User avatar
swirlee
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2272
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2003 1:18 pm
Location: A bunk in the back
Contact:

Re: sessions

Post by swirlee » Thu Sep 18, 2003 12:21 pm

mpgalvin wrote:
ruturajv wrote:use sessions!!!!

Great! how? :D
Actually, I don't see how sessions would work.


Neither do I. ruturajv tends to confuse. Moving along...

mpgalvin wrote:The mod_rewrite seems like a good solution, but I can't do it just yet: I'm using Apache, but on a Win machine for development.


So am I. It works fantastic. Give it a try.

mpgalvin
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 2:53 am

Post by mpgalvin » Fri Sep 19, 2003 10:25 am

Well, I finally got mod_rewrite up and going (that link you supplied is slightly out of date, by the way - the AddModule directive is not in the version of Apache I have (v2.0.40)

Now, all I have to do is to figure out what the flamin' rules are :) fun!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests