$_GET[] after a #fragment ?

Ask about general coding issues or problems here.

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

kezdotphp
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 1:01 pm

$_GET[] after a #fragment ?

Postby kezdotphp » Tue Feb 18, 2014 1:24 pm

Hi, I need help getting this thing to work, I'm not sure how to $_GET[] data after a fragment in the URL. I've seen it used on websites before for example:

example.com/#home?q=test

A working example is: http://craftland.org/#map&p=aether

they also use fragments to decide which page the user is on
here is the code that I'm using to work the #home:

http://pastebin.com/vAHppEyr

Any help would be great!
Thanks, Kez

paintitblack
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 8:53 pm

Re: $_GET[] after a #fragment ?

Postby paintitblack » Tue Feb 18, 2014 11:32 pm

In its simplest form, this is what you need:

Code: Select all

$q = $HTTP_GET_VARS['q'] ;

kezdotphp
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 1:01 pm

Re: $_GET[] after a #fragment ?

Postby kezdotphp » Wed Feb 19, 2014 3:11 am

Didn't work.

Not sure what I'm doing wrong

kezdotphp
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 1:01 pm

Re: $_GET[] after a #fragment ?

Postby kezdotphp » Wed Feb 19, 2014 3:24 am

Apparently $HTTP_GET_VARS was deprecated since version 4.1.0?

[ http://www.php.net/manual/en/reserved.variables.get.php ]

Being replaced with $_GET[] which I've already tried!

Any other suggestions?

paintitblack
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 8:53 pm

Re: $_GET[] after a #fragment ?

Postby paintitblack » Wed Feb 19, 2014 10:25 pm

I've just tested this on one of my shared hosting account (Linux), and it works fine:

Code: Select all

<?php
$param = $_GET['t'];
echo "The parameter value is: " . $param;
?>


I'm running this PHP code as follows:

Code: Select all

http://mydomain.com/phpcode.php?t=test

seandisanti
php-forum Fan User
php-forum Fan User
Posts: 838
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 12:32 pm

Re: $_GET[] after a #fragment ?

Postby seandisanti » Thu Feb 27, 2014 10:11 am

The suggested solution is the correct one; but make sure you replace 'q' with the variable name being passed in your form. Also make sure that your form is sending data via 'get' and not 'post'. To make use of the suggestion I mean. Post is actually the better choice as it keeps your url a little cleaner, etc


Return to “PHP coding => General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron