php error

Ask about general coding issues or problems here.

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

Post Reply
chrisranjana
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2012 4:32 pm
Location: Chennai India
Contact:

Re: php error

Post by chrisranjana » Sun Mar 03, 2013 9:06 pm

can you check whether

Code: Select all

SELECT price FROM sh_chart WHERE price<10.00 ORDER BY DESC
works in an SQL prompt (like phpmyadmin etc)

seandisanti
php-forum Fan User
php-forum Fan User
Posts: 973
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 12:32 pm

Re: php error

Post by seandisanti » Mon Mar 04, 2013 10:26 am

A failed query (results in error) returns false. That could be because the connection failed, a column or table name is misspelled, etc. If you're not seeing sql error text on your screen, view source on the page that is returning that error and you should see the SQL error embedded inside of a tag. it will give you a better idea of what is actually wrong. Or just take the query as chrisranjana said and run it in mysql or phpmyadmin to get the error directly without having to view source. That will work for field or table level errors.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests