Upload and resize image on the fly

images php coding issues or problems here.

Moderators: egami, macek, gesf

Post Reply
User avatar
Alexej Kubarev
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2214
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 7:15 am
Location: Täby, Stockholms län
Contact:

Thu Jun 30, 2005 6:42 am

im affraid you willh ave to upload it first and thenwork with it..
Best Regards,
Alexej Kubarev
-------------------------------
Zend Certified Engineer
Image Image

User avatar
gesf
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1716
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2002 5:03 am
Location: Portugal / Sweden
Contact:

Thu Jun 30, 2005 4:09 pm

hummm ymangitu, Alexei is right! It must be done on server-side.
A great idea is to compress it somehow and your script will de-compress it (sorry, don't know how to say it :p)
and resize it.

Sounds good ?
Sincerely,
Gonçalo "gesf" Fontoura

gesf.org | sessionstart.com | urlms.com

User avatar
Alexej Kubarev
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2214
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 7:15 am
Location: Täby, Stockholms län
Contact:

Thu Jun 30, 2005 10:40 pm

using compression before uploading is a good idea but will most probably require actions from the user
Best Regards,
Alexej Kubarev
-------------------------------
Zend Certified Engineer
Image Image

User avatar
gesf
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1716
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2002 5:03 am
Location: Portugal / Sweden
Contact:

Fri Jul 01, 2005 8:20 am

Hunn... didn't thought about that!
I'm affraid there's nothing to do about the upload time of large files.
Sincerely,
Gonçalo "gesf" Fontoura

gesf.org | sessionstart.com | urlms.com

User avatar
ruturajv
php-forum Super User
php-forum Super User
Posts: 1279
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2003 9:42 am
Location: Mumbai, India
Contact:

Thu Jul 14, 2005 8:05 pm

you probably need a java applet for your purpose.

php-vikas
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 12:25 am
Location: India
Contact:

Mon Aug 22, 2005 8:48 pm

I dont think that it is possible to resize a image on the fly without uploading the image on the server. You must have to upload the image on the server before resizing.






Vikas
vikas@enablingbiz.com
http://www.enablingbiz.com
http://www.e2webhosts.com

User avatar
Alexej Kubarev
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2214
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 7:15 am
Location: Täby, Stockholms län
Contact:

Wed Aug 24, 2005 8:13 am

even with flash you will have to upload the image temporarly...then resize it..
Best Regards,
Alexej Kubarev
-------------------------------
Zend Certified Engineer
Image Image

Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest