PHPMyAdmin - Error Importing / Uploading SQL Files

How to use phpmyadmin.... phpmyadmin related arguments. Even phpMyAdmin issues

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

NikeZ
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 12:14 am

PHPMyAdmin - Error Importing / Uploading SQL Files

Postby NikeZ » Tue Sep 07, 2004 12:18 am

I have a database that has been used for a Virtual Learning Environment (VLE) called Moodle. I needed to do a complete refresh of the system so I backed up the database in PHPMyAdmin into an SQL file.

I dropped all the table off the database (as I have done this before without any problems) and proceeded to reupload the backedup database.

Unfortunately nothing happens!!! I select the SQL file to upload and click Go and the page just sits there for about 5 minutes before it returns a "This Page Cannot Be Displayed" page.

I REALLY need to get this database sorted and I have no idea how to get past this problem. I have tried using the file and copying the data and pasting it in the text box. Nothing works.

Please help!!!!

Thanks,
James

User avatar
ruturajv
php-forum Super User
php-forum Super User
Posts: 1280
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2003 9:42 am
Location: Mumbai, India
Contact:

Postby ruturajv » Tue Sep 07, 2004 9:11 pm

this is the problem with phpmyadmin and really large SQL upload files...

check the upload max limit in the php.ini file and check your sql file..
Why don't you gzip the file and do the upload

NikeZ
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 12:14 am

Postby NikeZ » Tue Sep 07, 2004 11:32 pm

now ya see gzip'ing the file would have been the sensible thing to do lol....I managed to sort it out by using SSH.

Thanks for your help anyway :)

JameZ

User avatar
mike
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun May 04, 2003 4:26 am
Location: Athens
Contact:

Postby mike » Wed Sep 08, 2004 2:35 am

I prefer SSH too. Its quicker and can handle large files

Konstantinos
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2005 10:21 am

Postby Konstantinos » Fri Jun 10, 2005 10:33 am

Another cool way especcially for larger databases is u upload the db via ftp and u use http://www.ozerov.de/bigdump.php it always worked

User avatar
Alexej Kubarev
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2223
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 7:15 am
Location: Täby, Stockholms län
Contact:

Postby Alexej Kubarev » Fri Jun 10, 2005 12:13 pm

or simply using a Windows based client or something simmilar.. it would work very smooth as well :)


Return to “phpMyAdmin”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron