Cannot enter sql commands

How to use phpmyadmin.... phpmyadmin related arguments. Even phpMyAdmin issues

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

User avatar
TheFoolontheHill
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:01 am

Cannot enter sql commands

Postby TheFoolontheHill » Mon Mar 24, 2014 7:26 am

Hi,

I'm using Debian(jessie). I created a database(Cars) using phpMyAdmin's Create database function. I'm following along a book "The Joy of php". After the table is created the author wants to create a table (INVENTORY) using SQL commands. Well, phpMyAdmin will not let me enter any text in the SQL query text area. I created the table using the Create table function(buttons). If I click on the INVENTORY table in the left window-pane or the tab above I get the following error message:

Error

SELECT 'prefs' FROM 'phpmyadmin' . 'pma__table_uiprefs' WHERE 'username' = 'jeff' AND 'db_name' = 'Cars' AND 'table_name' = 'INVENTORY'

MySQL said:

#1146 - Table 'phpmyadmin.pma__table_uiprefs'
doesn't exist


If I click on columns under INVENTORY or the Structure tab above I can view the table and columns. Also when I click on the SQL tab I can view the table columns in the right-hand pane and the number 1 appears in the SQL command text field. If more information is needed please let me know.

Thanks,
Jeff

seandisanti
php-forum Fan User
php-forum Fan User
Posts: 838
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 12:32 pm

Re: Cannot enter sql commands

Postby seandisanti » Sun Mar 30, 2014 5:49 pm

is your schema named phpmyadmin ?

User avatar
TheFoolontheHill
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:01 am

Re: Cannot enter sql commands

Postby TheFoolontheHill » Sun Mar 30, 2014 6:33 pm

Hi seandisanti,

I have fixed the error messages by deleting the phpmyadmin database and then importing the create_tables.sql file. Unfortunatly I still cannot enter any text in the SQL text-area. I did create an sql file to import and create a database and table. This worked flawlessly.

I've submitted a bug report at source forge but all I have gotten from them is that my version is outdated. I'm using the version aptitude installs (below are the details). I update aptitude every day. The version I have on Windows is older and yet it doesn't seem to be outdated to the point of not working. Thanks for reading.

Jeff

Debian - jessie

Database Server:
Server: Localhost via UNIX socket
Server type: MySQL
Server version: 5.5.35-2 - (Debian)
Protocol version: 10
User: jeff@localhost
Server charset: UTF-8 Unicode (utf8)

Web Server:
Apache/2.4.7 (Debian)
Database client version: libmysql - 5.5.35
PHP extension: mysqli Documentation

phpMyAdmin:
Version information: 4.1.9deb1

Link to screenshot.
http://rosebusch.net/jeff/images/phpmyadmin-shot.png

seandisanti
php-forum Fan User
php-forum Fan User
Posts: 838
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 12:32 pm

Re: Cannot enter sql commands

Postby seandisanti » Thu Apr 03, 2014 9:00 pm

I have to say that's one I haven't run into before; I'm sorry I can't be of more help on this one. If you haven't already, you may want to look at LAMP or XAMP for your system to install everything at once and remove some of the possible points of failure with installing and configuring elements individually.

User avatar
TheFoolontheHill
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:01 am

Re: Cannot enter sql commands

Postby TheFoolontheHill » Fri Apr 04, 2014 5:10 am

Right now I don't feel like spending any more time on it. I'll just use MySQL Workbench, it can also generate php.

seandisanti
php-forum Fan User
php-forum Fan User
Posts: 838
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 12:32 pm

Re: Cannot enter sql commands

Postby seandisanti » Fri Apr 04, 2014 4:56 pm

Yeah, i use workbench more than anything lately for direct queries.


Return to “phpMyAdmin”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest