creating new users

How to use phpmyadmin.... phpmyadmin related arguments. Even phpMyAdmin issues

Moderators: egami, macek, gesf

Post Reply
Guest

Tue Apr 15, 2003 9:11 am

Hi,

I am hosting my website on Vario. They gave me initially a username/password. This username/password has all privilages. I don't have access to mysql main database, all I can use is the database that they have created for me. Is it possible for mre to introduce more users with less privilages, or does Vario have to do it themselves?

thanks,
alex

Osaou
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2003 4:52 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Wed Apr 16, 2003 3:05 pm

Yes, you should be able to add new users... and they can be given all your levels of access, or lesser ones.
Example:

Code: Select all

GRANT all privileges on *.* to new_user identified by "password";


/Osaou

webtekie
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2003 10:33 am
Location: brooklyn, ny
Contact:

Thu Apr 17, 2003 7:39 am

ok, but how do I create new users in the first place? If I don't have access to mysql.user then I don't see a way of inserting new records into this user table.

webtekie

Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest