GD problems

General discussions related to php

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

leigh
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2003 5:20 pm
Location: London, England

GD problems

Postby leigh » Mon Jul 21, 2003 11:29 pm

Hi all

I am trying to enable GD support in PHP. I am using version 4.3.2 for linux which has GD bundled in. I have used the ./configure --with-gd and a few other things such as jpeg, apache and mysql. All seems to compile without any problems.

However, when I look at the 'configure command' line, returned from phpinfo(), it only shows that I have compiled apache and mysql.

How can I tell if gd has been compiled into php?

Thanks in advance

Leigh

User avatar
WiZARD
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1257
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2002 10:14 pm
Location: Ukraine, Crimea, Simferopol
Contact:

Re: GD problems

Postby WiZARD » Mon Jul 21, 2003 11:49 pm

If you have a GD on your comp to you need say
./configure --with-gd -<DIR>
there <DIR> path to GD's library.....

User avatar
pootergeist
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 191
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2003 7:11 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby pootergeist » Tue Jul 22, 2003 1:59 am

quick note:

rather than looking in phpinfo() for details of the GD compile, you can simply use GDs own info return

var_dump(gd_info());

available since about PHP4.3.0 (check manual)

leigh
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2003 5:20 pm
Location: London, England

GD problems

Postby leigh » Tue Jul 22, 2003 2:29 pm

I re-compilled as: 'with-gd=/usr/lib/' and all seemed okay. I then used 'make' and 'make install', renamed and copied php.ini-dist to /usr/lib/ and restarted Apache...

Php_info() still shows an old build date and no compiling with gd :(

Ahhh.

Leigh

User avatar
WiZARD
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1257
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2002 10:14 pm
Location: Ukraine, Crimea, Simferopol
Contact:

Re: GD problems

Postby WiZARD » Thu Jul 24, 2003 4:40 am

as i know GD builtin in PHP, try find in manual how you may use other lib's

User avatar
mike
New php-forum User
New php-forum User
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun May 04, 2003 4:26 am
Location: Athens
Contact:

Postby mike » Sat Jul 26, 2003 3:52 am

You should always clean your last configuration before making a new compile:

rm -rf config.cache
make clean

Use php-4.3.x where GD are already bunded in. Just use
--with-gd option to activate them on configure command.


Return to “PHP General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests