Board index   FAQ   Search  
Register  Login
Board index PHP PHP General

Getting Started

General discussions related to php

Moderators: macek, egami, gesf

Getting Started

Postby Crabbpower » Thu Mar 28, 2013 2:14 pm

Hi, my first of hopefully many post on this forum.
I started learning PHP a month back and now feel that I have a fairly good grasp on the basics and some Intermediate skills of the language.
Now I want to get started challenging myself and try make a project that incorporates PHP, MySQL and maybe some JavaScript. But I don´t know where to start, what to make that needs the use of OOP and is maybe a good first time application to make.
Does anyone here have any ideas where to start implementing my skills? I´m not looking to change the world just test my boundaries and learn something while doing it.
Crabbpower
New php-forum User
New php-forum User

Re: Getting Started

Postby Strider64 » Thu Mar 28, 2013 2:25 pm

I started off creating a small blogging website http://www.rocketryoftech.com/ and wrote the code for it. I did it in OOP and I'm still not done, but the majority of the website is. While you don't have to do a blog, but maybe create a simple cms site, a shopping cart or a golf handicap system of a golf league. Something that incorporates MySQL and interactivity is where I would concentrate on. Along the way you learn something about internet security, I know I did.
Strider64
New php-forum User
New php-forum User

Postby Crabbpower » Thu Mar 28, 2013 2:30 pm

CMS seems like a great plan, I can start out simple and expand I like the idea, thanks.
Crabbpower
New php-forum User
New php-forum User

Postby seandisanti » Thu Mar 28, 2013 10:40 pm